Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Which laptop would you recommend?

Hey, I'm new here and a total computer dunce. I'm going to buy myself a laptop tomorrow and I need help. I'm still undecided as to if I should get a full sized, high powered laptop to replace the 5 year old behemoth I use as a home computer, or a mini laptop solely for university work. Heres what I'm looking for;
    (*Lag: Meaning when the computer goes slowly or skips frames etc, not internet lag. Not sure what to call this.)

Full Size Laptop

-Under $1800

-Able to run an internet explorer program, good quality word processor, and music player simultaneously with zero lag.

-Able to run games in the Red Alert 3 requirements range(even if its just on low quality mode, as long as theres no lag)

-Lightweight as possible for the above conditions(I'm a student, so I will need to carry this bad boy around for as much as 11 hours at a time)

-Not HP or other garbage brand.

Mini Laptop

-Well under $1800

-Small and lightweight(this is of greater importance than the large laptop, as if I pick this I'm going solely for portability, would want to have it in my bag for 11 hours five days a week)

-Able to run two of: Internet explorer program, Good Quality Word Processor, Music Player: Simultaneously without lag, or all 3 with lag well within reasonable tolerances.

-Able to run games like Final Doom, Age of Empires 1, and 2nd gen console emulators(for games I physically own of course).

-Good battery life

What does PC World suggest?

Default Re: Which laptop would you recommend?

Quote Originally Posted by Jedalius View Post
    Hey, I'm new here and a total computer dunce. I'm going to buy myself a laptop tomorrow and I need help. I'm still undecided as to if I should get a full sized, high powered laptop to replace the 5 year old behemoth I use as a home computer, or a mini laptop solely for university work. Heres what I'm looking for;