Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    She who must be obeyed! Bryden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    334

    Question Using TV as a Monitor

    I am still contemplating changing my 19" AOC monitor for a larger screen size. One computer shop in Hamilton suggested if I was going to 26" or above I should use a TV instead.... can anyway please advise me "fors" and "againsts"....

    TIA

    Bryden

  2. #2
    Member davidmmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The mighty Waikato...
    Posts
    828

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    If you really need that much screen real estate, you could just buy 2 of these and run it as a dual monitor setup. It's cheaper than buying a new TV .

  3. #3
    Bleakly Optomistic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Otaki, NZ
    Posts
    1,467

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmmac View Post
    If you really need that much screen real estate, you could just buy 2 of these and run it as a dual monitor setup. It's cheaper than buying a new TV .
    Downside to that is all the F'n error messages appear in the middle...

  4. #4
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,075

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    There are monitors larger than 26", so why they suggested a TV I have no idea.
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  5. #5
    Member davidmmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The mighty Waikato...
    Posts
    828

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    Well, you could take a look at this page here

    Edit: and this page here.

    Both have monitors larger than 26".
    Last edited by davidmmac; 07-05-2009 at 06:28 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    I would get a monitor, it would be much cheaper that a high resolution TV!


  7. #7
    She who must be obeyed! Bryden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    334

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    Not that much cheaper from the prices I saw.... $800+ for a 26" television, not that much less for a 26" monitor, which after all is only useful as part of a computer.... however, maybe there is a downside that I am not aware of? If you know of one, please say....

    TIA

  8. #8
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by Bryden View Post
    Not that much cheaper from the prices I saw.... $800+ for a 26" television, not that much less for a 26" monitor, which after all is only useful as part of a computer.... however, maybe there is a downside that I am not aware of? If you know of one, please say....

    TIA
    Resolution-26" TVs are usually low in resolution while monitors that size are usually Full HD or close to Fulld HD


  9. #9
    Member davidmmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The mighty Waikato...
    Posts
    828

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    For starters the resolution of a $800 TV is likely to be lower than a monitor.

    Edit: You beat me to it blam

  10. #10
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: Using TV as a Monitor

    For example, a Sony KLV26T400A which is a 26" BRAVIA LCD TV only runs a resolution of about 1366x768. It RRPs for about $900. For similar money, you can get a proper LCD monitor that will do at least 1920x1200.

    So, the disadvantage is the cost of a 26" TV with high resolution support is typically much more than a 26" monitor of the same resolution.
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

Similar Threads

  1. CRT Monitor and HD
    By davidmmac in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 16-12-2008, 03:40 PM
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 20-10-2008, 10:01 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2006, 12:44 PM
  4. No Signal To Monitor (Monitor ok)
    By sschone in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-08-2006, 02:02 PM
  5. Dual Monitor setup - Game opening in 'wrong' monitor
    By hummingbird42 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-04-2005, 08:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •