Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Error 630 Modem on WIn98

    Had this.
    Removed and reinstalled TCP/IP.
    Removed and recreated DUN Connection.
    Removed modem and replaced with new internal. - That didn't give an error it just hung every time I tried dialling out with it.
    The PC is 9 years old and absolutely filthy with coal dust and smoke.

    Removed it and replaced it with an external serial US Robotics.
    That worked for 4 days.
    Now he gets the same error.

    I suspect the motherboards on the way out......what do you think?
    wipe your paws.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Error 630 Modem on WIn98

    Tried this ?

    Could be a knackered port

    Could be a setting in the BIOS thats been configured wrong?

    Or an entry in the registry maybe corrupt?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: Error 630 Modem on WIn98



  4. #4
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Error 630 Modem on WIn98

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Tried this ?
    Tried it all. It wouldn't work happily for 4 days then crap out with the same error again if it was something like that - well I wouldn't have though so.........

    He's got my bullet proof USR, well it was until it went to live in the filthy coal house.......
    wipe your paws.

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Modem on Win98
    By arjay in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 29-05-2007, 09:16 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21-07-2004, 04:54 PM
  3. cant istall win98 modem
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-02-2002, 06:16 PM
  4. Error in win98
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15-01-2001, 10:45 AM
  5. Win98 Upgrade/Modem Detection
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-1999, 07:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •