Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: virtual pc/box

  1. #1
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default virtual pc/box

    does this take up a lot of resources on a pc, cpu etc?
    thinking about installing it and trying linux
    im new to this virtual stuff so ideas/comments welcome
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    Run it from the cd, if you want to test Ubuntu.

    I dont think you have to install it, to see what its like

    Depends what options you select on how much it'll use

  3. #3
    Misc. User of PressF1 somebody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,198

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    Quote Originally Posted by GameJunkie View Post
    does this take up a lot of resources on a pc, cpu etc?
    thinking about installing it and trying linux
    im new to this virtual stuff so ideas/comments welcome
    If you have a fairly recent PC, then you'll be fine. It's certainly one of the safest ways to test out Linux and other operating systems, becasue if you stuff up, you can just delete the virtual machine and start again - without damaging your "proper" system.
    Any views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer or any affiliated 3rd party.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    Or-for ubuntu you can just use WUBI

    Virtual Box is best VM app IMHO....

    Blam


  5. #5
    mikebartnz
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wairarapa
    Posts
    5,554

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    It is a great way of playing around with different OS's. It beats running from CD as you can set it up like you want it.
    I'm using VirtualBox under PClinuxOS2007 and have tinkered with some interesting OS's like ReactOS and MenuetOS. It is also very good for testing purposes like checking websites against different setups and programs under different setups.
    The other thing is you can create snapshots of a setup so it is easy to revert if things go haywire.
    I only have a Duron1300 with 512MB and don't find things too bad. Obviously I'm not trying to run Vista or anything like that.
    Last edited by mikebartnz; 13-02-2009 at 10:28 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    i've installed virtualbox and am burning ubuntu to disc, so will give these two a go at some point.

    thanks for all your ideas

    GameJunkie
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Misc. User of PressF1 somebody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,198

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    Quote Originally Posted by GameJunkie View Post
    i've installed virtualbox and am burning ubuntu to disc, so will give these two a go at some point.

    thanks for all your ideas

    GameJunkie
    If you have the ISO image of Ubuntu, just mount the image.
    Any views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer or any affiliated 3rd party.

  8. #8
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    i have the ISO image of 8.04, couldnt i use virtualdrive pro for that>?
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    You can mount if with any virtual disc software.

    I personally use poweriso and daemon tools


  10. #10
    Misc. User of PressF1 somebody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,198

    Default Re: virtual pc/box

    Quote Originally Posted by blam6 View Post
    You can mount if with any virtual disc software.

    I personally use poweriso and daemon tools
    You don't need to. In VirtualBox, start a VM, then go to Devices->Mount CD/DVDROM->CD/DVDROM Image and just select your ISO image.
    Any views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer or any affiliated 3rd party.

Similar Threads

  1. Virtual PC
    By gary67 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 16-03-2009, 11:50 AM
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-11-2007, 02:33 PM
  3. virtual CDs
    By Nigel Thomson in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-06-2004, 11:36 PM
  4. MS Virtual PC
    By JohnD in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22-01-2004, 05:06 PM
  5. virtual
    By Thomas in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13-02-2003, 09:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •