Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default For those who use ESET Smart Security

    I dont know if this works or not, since I dont have it installed atm (I've reformated).

    I cant remember the exact 2 errors that appeared in event viewer they usuallly appeared when you went into a networked folder.

    One of the errors had something to do with SMB redirector (I think or similar).

    This WAS a known issue (before the latest update came out). BUT for some reason the 2 errors were still coming up here. I got in touch with Chillisoft (who are 15-20 mins walk from me actually).

    And they did this and that, and tried to get me to crash this thing lol. So, they could have a look at the dmp file. It didnt want to crash

    So, in the end I got rid of ESS. And reinstalled Avast

    Anyway, the patch (that may fix it) is here

    It looks like it applies, if you use a multiprocessor (I take it, this means dual core's).

    So, if youre seeing these two errors in XP (one will have SMB or similar in it)

    You may want to go here as well

    At the top is a hotfix (it maybe a later version than the first link). You have to request it, then unzip it (with a password), then install it

  2. #2
    Jedi master Rob99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In the wop wops
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: For those who use ESET Smart Security

    Are you saying you had an error that you cant remember, and that has nothing to do with ESS, you then tryed to get ESS to crash and it didnt, so you formatted your HD and now use Avast?
    Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: For those who use ESET Smart Security

    No, the 2 errors came up, when ESS was installed, everytime I went into a networked folder

    As I said, it was posted on the Eset forum as an issue, until the latest update came out for it. BUT, for some reason these 2 errors still appeared here

    But, it may not be a NOD32 issue, it maybe an MS one. Thats why I posted a link (that may fix it), if you have a multiprocessor system

  4. #4
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,927

    Default Re: For those who use ESET Smart Security

    I run ESS and so far no errors on this dual core machine but thanks Speedy will keep on eye on things for now with this in mind

Similar Threads

  1. Eset smart security
    By gary67 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23-09-2008, 12:13 PM
  2. Eset firewall set up
    By minster in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 23-08-2008, 06:16 PM
  3. NOD32/Esset Smart Security.
    By smithie 38 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 23-04-2008, 12:53 PM
  4. Eset Nod32 Antivirus OR Smart Security
    By hazza87 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-03-2008, 04:10 PM
  5. Eset Smart Security Beta
    By CYaBro in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2007, 01:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •