Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question 'new user' settings

    i confused aye.

    its happened twice now. i start up the computer as normal, i log in as normal, its takes ages, then loads up the original background and default desktop program shortcuts. it acts as if i'm a 'new user'. its really weird cos it recognizes my user name and password, but creates a new 'my documents' folder. when i do a system restore, take it back a few days, its all good. i am the system administrator.

    any ideas anyone???

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,855

    Default Re: 'new user' settings

    Have you scanned for malware??

    Post a hijackthis log, its below

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: 'new user' settings

    thanks
    Umm yep. i installed Malwarebyte's Anti-Malware, scanned and found nothing. installed HijackThis, scanned and created log report. Not sure who to show it to though.. maybe a computer shop...??
    I currently have Kaspersky Anti-Virus installed and updated. scan every two weeks, found nothing. also have Ad-aware and Spybot installed.

    any ideas??

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,855

    Default Re: 'new user' settings

    You copy and paste the hijackthis log here.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: 'new user' settings

    i went to the computer shop and told the guy of my problem and he said its probably corrupt user dat file. so he told to create a new user, copy all doc and stuff over, then delete old account.
    i'll let u know how it goes.

    thanks anyway

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: 'new user' settings

    Finally got it sorted.

    Took awhile to copy and sort out my docs and stuff, create and delete accounts but i've done it.

    So hopefully it is all good now.

    Thanks for your help anyway.

  7. #7
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: 'new user' settings

    Quote Originally Posted by m0use View Post
    Finally got it sorted.

    Took awhile to copy and sort out my docs and stuff, create and delete accounts but i've done it.

    So hopefully it is all good now.

    Thanks for your help anyway.
    I am pleased your problem has been fixed without resorting to Linux and Firefox or Seamonkey or whatever.

Similar Threads

  1. User settings
    By Greg in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-06-2006, 01:49 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18-03-2006, 10:00 AM
  3. User settings/ display in Windows XP
    By samparker in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-08-2002, 04:32 PM
  4. Windows2K and User Settings
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-04-2002, 11:26 AM
  5. Win XP user settings
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-04-2002, 05:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •