Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,769

    Default best video codec

    hi

    just doing a bit of video recoding (from lossless format) at the moment. just wondering what the current best quality to file size codec is at the moment.
    trying to get a 3min 640x480 clip down to a usable size to upload.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  2. #2
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: best video codec

    I personally use Xvid for everything...I use AutoGK


  3. #3
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: best video codec

    What do you consider a "usable size to upload"?

    I uploaded a 6 minute clip last night, it was 76mb, I was happy with that.
    better Dredd then dead

  4. #4
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,769

    Default Re: best video codec

    usable....under 10meg. original file is 220meg.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: best video codec

    h.264 for sure!

    If you can, try and use the x264 encoder, definitely the best!
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #6
    Señor Member nofam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mollywood
    Posts
    2,323

    Default Re: best video codec

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    h.264 for sure!

    If you can, try and use the x264 encoder, definitely the best!
    x2

    Download Handbrake, and give that a go (props to Chill for putting me onto that!)
    .
    .
    .

    Got a natural pearl in my calloused hand
    ...Saved for the girl who could really understand
    ......What it takes to see
    .........The gold from the alchemy

  7. #7
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,769

    Default Re: best video codec

    unfortunatly handbrake doesn't reconise the file. i had problems with virtualdub working with the file to.

    been useing 'super' which is doing a fairly good job. just lots of playing around to see what settings produce what.

    btw a neat little screen capturing program and codec is CamStudio. good old open source to the rescue
    Tweak it till it breaks

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,108

    Default Re: best video codec

    h.264. It has the highest quality to size ratio so far. But it needs a lot of processing power to decode.

  9. #9
    Señor Member nofam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mollywood
    Posts
    2,323

    Default Re: best video codec

    Quote Originally Posted by utopian201 View Post
    h.264. It has the highest quality to size ratio so far. But it needs a lot of processing power to decode.
    A lot to encode too

    I encoded an 8Gb .iso to an h.264 .mkv file (1500 fps) on my old P4 3.0Ghz, and it took about 11 hours!!!

    Would love a Core i7. . . . . . .
    .
    .
    .

    Got a natural pearl in my calloused hand
    ...Saved for the girl who could really understand
    ......What it takes to see
    .........The gold from the alchemy

  10. #10
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: best video codec

    1500fps? You mean thats the video bitrate, not fps? Because you would encode the video so it plays at around 29.97fps, but it would be doing the encoding potentially a lot slower on that system of yours.

    That itself seems horribly slow, on a 2Ghz system I can do a 2-pass encode in a couple of hours tops?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. VIDEO CODEC PROBLEM
    By almightynugget in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-07-2008, 01:32 PM
  2. Need A Codec For This:
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2007, 08:15 AM
  3. Best AVI codec ?
    By russell108 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20-06-2006, 08:59 AM
  4. Codec Help.
    By rob_on_guitar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-03-2006, 11:44 PM
  5. codec
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2002, 04:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •