Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,162

    Default spyware programs

    i have superantispyware, spyware terminator and malwarebytes.

    do i need three or should i get rid of one?

    cheers
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,174

    Default Re: spyware programs

    Those three all work fine together, NO One Antispyware program catches every thing, so having 3 wont hurt one little bit.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  3. #3
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,162

    Default Re: spyware programs

    cheers,

    another question, do i need to have the real time feature in ST enabled?
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: spyware programs

    Depends what it does in ST.

    If its like teatimer, it can block things.

    And you'll have probs

  5. #5
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,162

    Default Re: spyware programs

    yea, it warns me every time i install updates etc,

    disabled it anyway
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,174

    Default Re: spyware programs

    I've got mine enabled, as it does protect you if something tries to install, bit like prevention is better than cure.

    Only times I find it a pain, is when installing programs it sometimes pops up blocking them from installing (which its meant to do) so if installing I right click the icon in the tray / Exit (disable) - then reboot after installing the program which turns it back on (old habits die hard from 98 ) OR open it from the "All Programs".
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  7. #7
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,056

    Default Re: spyware programs

    When using Spyware Terminator I just use its Install Mode, generally a prompt appears automatically.
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  8. #8

    Default Re: spyware programs

    I use a mixture of Malwarebytes Antimalware, Spybot Search and Destroy and Ad-Aware along with some Firefox addons - cookiesafe and noscript.

    I havent had an issue for a long, long time.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-11-2006, 09:24 AM
  2. anti spyware programs
    By Mr_Rain313 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 17-07-2005, 03:58 PM
  3. best spyware programs?
    By bigmit37 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 15-03-2005, 07:49 PM
  4. Anti-spyware installing spyware ?
    By wmoore in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14-02-2005, 01:13 PM
  5. Spyware Programs
    By Robbie in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2002, 08:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •