Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Question Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    Yesterday I received a message in my system tray to the effect that Java runtime needed to update itself to which I agreed.

    The new version which downloaded and installed is:

    Version 6 Update 10 (build 1.6.0_10-b33)

    The download and subsequent installation seemed to proceed normally without any hitch and I am able to access the "Java Control Panel window" from Windows Control panel and everything looks normal although I am really not sure what the settings mean and neither have I changed any of them.

    Since the update some web pages do not display properly including this one. Specifically the top of the page is blank with with a column of dots and dashes showing.

    In addition I know that there is an update to the program "CCleaner" available...in the past I would have received an automatic reminder to update CCleaner as soon as I opened the program. Today no automatic Update Checker appeared, and when I pressed the "Check for Updates..." box at the bottom right of the CCleaner window, I was immediately directed to the update page for CCleaner but this is what appeared just above the usual download link:

    "Thank you for your interest in new versions of CCleaner.
    The update checker needs to have javascript enabled to work."

    My question is how do I enable javascript?
    In the past simply downloading and installing updates naturally enabled it.

    Many thanks for your help and suggestions.
    WINDOWS Vista Ultimate SP2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2.01 GHz; 2.0GB RAM;
    GeCube RADEON X800XL; 200GB HDD

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    I would have uninstalled the previous version (if the update didnt do it), then install the later version.

    I'm getting those dots and dashes in this forum as well. BUT I dont think its the latest version of Java, thats doing it. Since, Java has been installed for a few mths. And these dots / dashes have only just appeared recently ( the last few days - 1-2 days)

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    I would have uninstalled the previous version (if the update didnt do it), then install the later version.

    I'm getting those dots and dashes in this forum as well. BUT I dont think its the latest version of Java, thats doing it. Since, Java has been installed for a few mths. And these dots / dashes have only just appeared recently ( the last few days - 1-2 days)
    Hi Speedy Gonzales:

    I have uninstalled the old Java using Revo Uninstaller following your note.
    I also uninstalled the new Java using Revo Uninstaller and then re-installed it again as a fresh install.

    But still no difference.

    The update Checker for CCleaner (which needs Javascript to be enabled) still does not work.

    I use Firefox as my default browser and in Tools> Options > Content tab...the "Enable Java" box is definitely checked.

    Does Java need to be enabled within Windows itself?
    And if so, can you please tell me how to do that.
    WINDOWS Vista Ultimate SP2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2.01 GHz; 2.0GB RAM;
    GeCube RADEON X800XL; 200GB HDD

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    Well, all I do with every new version of Java, is uninstall it, and then delete its folders in documents and settings / program files, then use ccleaner to remove the rest of it.

    Then install the latest version

    It seems to work fine

  5. #5

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    Firstly, are we talking Javascript or Java here? The two seemed to have been muddled up. Javascript is used on most webpages these days for various things and does not change unless you upgrade your browser.
    If the appearance of this site has changed, it's most likely Javascript that is off. I don't have Firefox installed to check where the option is, but most likely in the same place as Java.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Well, all I do with every new version of Java, is uninstall it, and then delete its folders in documents and settings / program files, then use ccleaner to remove the rest of it.

    Then install the latest version

    It seems to work fine
    Speedy Gnzales:

    That is exactly what I did do.
    The PC World page seems to load normally now but the automatic update checker for CCleaner still does not work as it always has in the past
    WINDOWS Vista Ultimate SP2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2.01 GHz; 2.0GB RAM;
    GeCube RADEON X800XL; 200GB HDD

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    Quote Originally Posted by autechre View Post
    Firstly, are we talking Javascript or Java here? The two seemed to have been muddled up. Javascript is used on most webpages these days for various things and does not change unless you upgrade your browser.
    If the appearance of this site has changed, it's most likely Javascript that is off. I don't have Firefox installed to check where the option is, but most likely in the same place as Java.
    autechre:

    Both Javascript and Java are definitely enabled in my installation of Firefox.
    Tools > Options > Content Tab > Enable Javascript Box checked. Enable Java Box checked.
    WINDOWS Vista Ultimate SP2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2.01 GHz; 2.0GB RAM;
    GeCube RADEON X800XL; 200GB HDD

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    In Addition I am no longer receiving automatic emails to alert me to the fact that someone has posted a reply to which I am subscribed on this Forum ...which I did receive in the past.
    Could this also be a Javascript/Java issue?
    WINDOWS Vista Ultimate SP2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2.01 GHz; 2.0GB RAM;
    GeCube RADEON X800XL; 200GB HDD

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    Go to tools / options / content. Make sure the 1st 4 are ticked

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Problem with Javascript recent Automatic update

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Go to tools / options / content. Make sure the 1st 4 are ticked
    Speedy: All 4 boxes at the top are ticked.
    WINDOWS Vista Ultimate SP2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2.01 GHz; 2.0GB RAM;
    GeCube RADEON X800XL; 200GB HDD

Similar Threads

  1. Firefox Update Kills JavaScript...
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-06-2007, 10:38 AM
  2. NAV automatic update
    By Finn in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-03-2005, 06:10 PM
  3. Stopping an automatic MS update for SP2
    By Rod_M in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-10-2004, 08:42 PM
  4. XP automatic update 329834
    By ephesus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-10-2003, 11:43 AM
  5. Automatic Update
    By jaxson in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-02-2003, 12:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •