Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: eSata?

  1. #1
    Senior Member pine-o-cleen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,269

    Default eSata?

    Ok I have this motherboard and I'm looking at getting this HDD enclosure.

    Now my question is, the HDD enclosure has an ESATA connection and the motherboard has a SATA connection. Is this the same thing? Or would I have to use USB?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: eSata?

    Not the same thing.

    Some Vantec enclosure include eSATA backplates (which connect to an internal SATA port). Not sure if the one in your link does though.
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  3. #3
    Senior Member pine-o-cleen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,269

    Default Re: eSata?

    Ah ok, so I need an interface.

  4. #4
    Senior Member pine-o-cleen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,269

    Default Re: eSata?

    So something likethis?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: eSata?

    Yup - that looks good. Check whether your enclosure includes one first though.
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-01-2008, 08:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •