Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member percyporter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Warkworth
    Posts
    51

    Default Belkin F5D 633 wireless router/modem

    Despite searching the Belkin site I can't find any reference to this particular router/modem.

    I wish to find out if I can restrict access to the router by adding a password, I live in a very confined urban area and neighbours could well be within range of the signal, I have noted a recent increase in usage which I don't believe is coming from me.

    Any help would, as always, be appreciatted.

    Alan

  2. #2
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,786

    Default Re: Belkin F5D 633 wireless router/modem

    Is it encrypted? Why not turn off the wifi and connect with a cable at least for a few days to see if the usage goes down

  3. #3
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Belkin F5D 633 wireless router/modem

    Are you sure it is not the F5D7633.
    http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspeci...?ItemID=356232
    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, GTX 560 TI 1GB DDR5 graphics card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2233WM LCD 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD

  4. #4
    Junior Member percyporter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Warkworth
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: Belkin F5D 633 wireless router/modem

    Quote Originally Posted by Trev View Post
    Are you sure it is not the F5D7633.
    http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspeci...?ItemID=356232
    Yes you're correct, a tipping error I'm afraid.

    Can't connect by cable that's why I have got a wireless router

    Alan

  5. #5
    Senior Member Thebananamonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,677

    Default Re: Belkin F5D 633 wireless router/modem

    Find out your IP address:

    Type [Windows]+[R], then "cmd" and [Enter]

    Type "ipconfig" and enter

    Make a note of the IPv4 Address, and type this into a browser (IE, or Firefox)

    Go to the "security" tab that should have come up, and in "security mode", I suggest you select WPA/WPA2, and choose a password in the "key" section.

    If you're unsecured, you've almost certainly had other users use your internet. Best you do this soon.

  6. #6
    Junior Member percyporter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Warkworth
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: Belkin F5D 633 wireless router/modem

    Thanks for that, I'll have to get someone to translate all that into non geek speak. I can switch it on and off (PC) but don't fancy my chances at anything more technical, fortunately there is a geek in the family.

    Tah muchly

    Alan

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone got a BELKIN modem/router?
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 07:44 PM
  2. Xbox 360 Wireless Adpater - Belkin Router - WIFI BOOST
    By wilson2k8 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-01-2008, 10:16 PM
  3. Belkin Wireless Pre-n router
    By Misty in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-03-2007, 02:29 PM
  4. belkin wireless router
    By plod in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-10-2005, 01:25 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-07-2003, 06:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •