Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Trying to fiddle less! R.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Variable (weather, that is!)
    Posts
    1,823

    Question RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    My Toshiba laptop is a Satellite A100 PSAA9A-046004. Where would I look to find/and buy suitable RAM for an upgrade?

    As always - TIA
    Now-if I could just remember where I left my brain...

  2. #2
    Baking. bob_doe_nz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In the kitchen
    Posts
    5,198

    Default Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    According to the Toshiba Brochure (Pg 14, last Column based on your PSA code) your max RAM is 4 Gigabytes.
    It uses DDR2 @ 533mhz.

    Look around at stores and online at Pricespy.co.nz

    I'd personally go for the Kingston ValueRam series.
    My shutdown application

    Call me Angel Nob Bobstickles. The baking vending builder who can't fix it.

  3. #3
    Trying to fiddle less! R.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Variable (weather, that is!)
    Posts
    1,823

    Default Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    Thanks for that - I'll start looking.
    Now-if I could just remember where I left my brain...

  4. #4

    Default Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    Hi RM

    Got mine at Noel Lemming, where and when I brought my Toshi A/100. Be aware these come fitted with 1g. However, it is comprised of 2 x 520mb boards.

    BURNZEE

  5. #5
    Trying to fiddle less! R.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Variable (weather, that is!)
    Posts
    1,823

    Default Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    Quote Originally Posted by Burnzee View Post
    Hi RM

    Got mine at Noel Lemming, where and when I brought my Toshi A/100. Be aware these come fitted with 1g. However, it is comprised of 2 x 520mb boards.

    BURNZEE
    I'll talk to Noel Lemming today. My laptop is a couple of years old - checked this am with crucial.com tool - it has 512MB currently installed with capacity for 2048. I looked yesterday, and yes it has two places for RAM.

    Thanks.
    Now-if I could just remember where I left my brain...

  6. #6
    Trying to fiddle less! R.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Variable (weather, that is!)
    Posts
    1,823

    Default Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    Quote Originally Posted by R.M. View Post
    I'll talk to Noel Lemming today. My laptop is a couple of years old - checked this am with crucial.com tool - it has 512MB currently installed with capacity for 2048. I looked yesterday, and yes it has two places for RAM.

    Thanks.
    They were a bit sniffy - said they only dealt with modern laptops (ie less than 1 week old, one suspects!) so I'll follow another line of inquiry...
    Now-if I could just remember where I left my brain...

  7. #7
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,765

    Default Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    Quote Originally Posted by bob_doe_nz View Post
    According to the Toshiba Brochure (Pg 14, last Column based on your PSA code) your max RAM is 4 Gigabytes.
    It uses DDR2 @ 533mhz.

    Look around at stores and online at Pricespy.co.nz

    I'd personally go for the Kingston ValueRam series.
    Second that - just installed an extra 1 Gb of that in a Laptop this weekend - made it really fly

  8. #8
    JihAd han308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lower Hutt
    Posts
    73

    Question Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    While we're on the subject. I am running a Pc with 1Gb ram DDR400 (older machine). Is it worth upgrading to 2GB???

    Cheers,
    Vic.
    "It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  9. #9
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    Quote Originally Posted by han308 View Post
    I am running a Pc with 1Gb ram DDR400 Is it worth upgrading to 2GB???
    Of course. All PCs benefit from more RAm, even if it is older stuff.
    wipe your paws.

  10. #10
    Trying to fiddle less! R.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Variable (weather, that is!)
    Posts
    1,823

    Default Re: RAM for Toshiba lappy?

    Quote Originally Posted by bob_doe_nz View Post
    According to the Toshiba Brochure (Pg 14, last Column based on your PSA code) your max RAM is 4 Gigabytes.
    It uses DDR2 @ 533mhz.

    Look around at stores and online at Pricespy.co.nz

    I'd personally go for the Kingston ValueRam series.
    I keep coming back to this post in my research. I now realise I don't really know how to differentiate between what is suitable for laptops vs desktops when looking at the 'numbers'! Some advice would sure be appreciated...

    Cheers
    Now-if I could just remember where I left my brain...

Similar Threads

  1. ? cable from lappy to dataprojector
    By R.M. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-09-2008, 07:37 PM
  2. Reformatting my Toshiba lappy
    By R.M. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 27-07-2008, 04:14 PM
  3. Computer/lappy to TV
    By Lovelee in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-07-2007, 10:31 AM
  4. someone put a password on my lappy
    By pou006 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 29-06-2007, 01:34 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31-01-2007, 07:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •