Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    This is my last resort before I start to replace parts, I'll try and keep it short

    After installing my new CPU I hook everything up and get no video, there's no power to the mouse or keyboard. I open it up and restart it, the computer powers on for 3 - 5 seconds, restarts and the fans start back up. No video, no power to keyboard/mouse and no POST beep (I assume it's not the video card).

    I then replaced the new CPU with my old one and the same thing happens.

    I had removed the motherboard from the case during the first installation due to advice from a friend because I was having a hard time getting the heatsink/cooler seated, so I thought perhaps there was a short somewhere.

    I removed the motherboard from the case and set it up in a cardboard box, no matter how many pieces of hardware I removed it would not POST or give any sort of warning beep, down to just PSU and RAM. I even read to try it without PSU and RAM to see if I could get any sort of beep from the motherboard, none.

    I'm assuming my motherboard is dead, I don't know how, I assume some sort of shock during handling, but that's a first for me, and I've handled computers quite a bit. My only other theory is it's the PSU which is fairly new, but I'm going to try a friends PSU tomorrow.

    Any thoughts would be appreciated.

    Parts:
    Old CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 3.4GHz
    New CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    Did you update the BIOS before you put the new CPU in??

    Did you plug the ATX 12v adapter from the PSU back in?

    Is it the stepping C0 CPU (it needs BIOS F1), or E0 CPU (it needs F5) ?

    Intel Core™ 2 Duo E8400 3GHz 6MB Wolfdale 45nm C0 65W 1333 F1
    Intel Core™ 2 Duo E8400 3GHz 6MB Wolfdale 45nm E0 65W 1333 F5

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    I can't find if it's the CO or EO, on the box or the manual, unless I'm blind.

    I did not update the BIOS prior to installing the new CPU, I assumed I could after the computer was on, but I can't get that far, no video no keyboard power.

    I tried clearing the CMOS via the jumper on the motherboard, didn't help.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    If you have the E0 CPU (and you dont have the F5 BIOS), no you cant update the BIOS AFTER you've installed the new CPU.

    As the BIOS needs to be flashed to F5 BEFORE the new CPU is installed. So the system recognises the new CPU.

    Which could be why its not working

    BUT, this doesnt explain WHY it doesnt work now, when you put the old CPU back in

    Does it say C0 or E0, on the pin side of the CPU?

    Did you put the ATX 12v adapter on the mobo again, after you took the mobo out of the case?
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 21-08-2008 at 05:29 PM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    The only writing on the pin side of the CPU is 003, I guess it could be E00 but looks like a 3 not an E.

    And yes I forgot to add, I did reconnect the 12v adapter.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    Did u connect the hdd again? Is there anything on the hdd?

    Is this how you connected the CPU ?
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 21-08-2008 at 06:02 PM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    Yes, that's how the CPU was installed.

    The HDD is the same drive I used with the previous CPU, I've tried it with and without, with both CPU's.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    Tried a different powersupply today, only tried the old CPU, but the same thing happens. Computer starts up, 3 seconds later it shuts off then starts back up and fans just spin. No video, no error beeps from the motherboard.

    I think the motherboard is dead, anyone agree/disagree before I buy a new one? :P

  9. #9
    Gratis versus Libre johnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Timaru
    Posts
    1,171

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    Are you sure that you have connected all the aux wires (power switch, reset, ....) in the correct place - some wrong connections here can stop a system from starting.
    # Linux kernel on:
    - Desktop
    3.0GHz AMD A8-3870
    - Oppo AX7

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Installing new CPU, computer won't POST

    Quote Originally Posted by johnd View Post
    Are you sure that you have connected all the aux wires (power switch, reset, ....) in the correct place - some wrong connections here can stop a system from starting.
    Yep I'm positive, I even had my buddy double check for me to make sure I wasn't missing something.

Similar Threads

  1. computer wont POST when hdd plugged in
    By mOOseCaNNoN in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 03:13 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-01-2008, 08:37 PM
  3. POST from my computer to website: secure?
    By hamstar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-08-2005, 11:30 AM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22-04-2005, 12:57 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-06-2004, 09:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •