Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    GK GeneralKanos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    West Auckland
    Posts
    148

    Question What RAM speed should I get?

    Aaaaahhh...

    Well now that I sorted out what was wrong with my PC (bad ram) I need to get some new sticks.

    Previously I had 2x1Gb of G.Skill pc6400 800MHz.

    My CPU FSB is 1333MHz so I'm unsure as whether to get 667 or 800MHz RAM.

    I'm not planning on OC tho I'm a gamer and I want to get as much out of my PC with as little effort as possible.

    My mobo is an ASUS P5N-E SLI if that makes a difference...

    And recommends appreciated

    GK
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    EVGA P55 SLI FTW / i5 750 2.6GHz / 4GB Gskillz / nVidia GTX 275

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: What RAM speed should I get?

    http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showpos...4&postcount=20

    From your previous thread

    Get 3GB though (2x1GB and 2x512MB) - may as well if you can afford it
    Last edited by jwil1; 13-08-2008 at 09:59 PM.
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  3. #3
    GK GeneralKanos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    West Auckland
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: What RAM speed should I get?

    Ah but is it on the QVL? My last set of RAM wasn't and I dunno whether that caused the problem.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1
    EVGA P55 SLI FTW / i5 750 2.6GHz / 4GB Gskillz / nVidia GTX 275

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: What RAM speed should I get?

    QVL??

    edit: Ah, Qualified vendor list ( I think)

    I have Kingston Valueram in my Asus P5KC mobo and works 100% no probs.

    Any RAM should work in any mobo AFAIK. You just had bad ram.
    Last edited by jwil1; 13-08-2008 at 10:02 PM.
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  5. #5
    Senior Member KatiMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Bay of Plenty
    Posts
    223

    Default Re: What RAM speed should I get?


Similar Threads

  1. ADSL speed vs Wireless Speed
    By thomas09 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-08-2006, 08:42 PM
  2. My Hi-Speed ports are not hi-speed??
    By ChunkyMunky in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-02-2006, 06:03 AM
  3. 256 V 2M Speed
    By stu161204 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13-07-2005, 06:27 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-08-2004, 11:06 PM
  5. Dr. Speed internet connection speed-up
    By garyasta in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-10-2002, 06:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •