Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Bowling Club Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    184

    Default Questions for the Broadband Experts

    I have 4 computers on my home network, only 1 is on 24/7. 1 is used most of the day, the other 2 only a few hours a week. My average use acording to Orcon is 1.33Gbs/day. I have TautologyBB Bandwidth Meter running on all computers and after checking over several months I only seem to be averaging about 1Gb/day. I understand there is overhead/lost packets etc. but the difference appears to be far too big. Can anybody explain this for me.

    My Router is a Netgear DG834G. The 2 most used computers are WindowsXP. 1 is Puppy Linux. The other is a laptop on Win2000Pro with a wireless conection.
    Thanks
    Ian
    I may not be as good as I once was but I'm far better once than I ever was.

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    Was tautology monitoring both downloads and uploads?
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    Is the router's wireless signal secured with WPA?
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  4. #4
    Bowling Club Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    Was tautology monitoring both downloads and uploads?
    Yes
    I may not be as good as I once was but I'm far better once than I ever was.

  5. #5
    Bowling Club Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    Quote Originally Posted by jwil1 View Post
    Is the router's wireless signal secured with WPA?
    Yes. All Secure

    If somebody was leeching my bandwidth, they must be doing it very smartly to be so consistant.
    I may not be as good as I once was but I'm far better once than I ever was.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    Do you have a firewall blocking outgoing connections??

    Have you looked at your ISP's usage meter??
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  7. #7
    Bowling Club Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    Quote Originally Posted by jwil1 View Post
    Do you have a firewall blocking outgoing connections??

    Have you looked at your ISP's usage meter??
    I use Comodo Firewall which blocks all unnecessary outgoing conections. Tautology would record all in & out connections anyway.

    My ISP is Orcon and that what this thread is about. I think their usage meter is wrong and I am being charged for more bandwidth than I am using. However I am open minded about that until I get some expert advice.
    Ian
    I may not be as good as I once was but I'm far better once than I ever was.

  8. #8
    Bowling Club Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    Bump

    Must be someone with a few possible answers before I ring Orcon??
    I may not be as good as I once was but I'm far better once than I ever was.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    479

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    Just read this from another forum ... (Not sure if it is true)

    "Tautology meter, programmer does notguarantee accurate readings.
    Click "About' of the application. The only "Accurate" Usage meter is the one your ISP uses ."

    http://broadbandforum.in/bsnl-broadb...-meter-v1-5-a/

    Does your router has the stats for the connection? My 3Com router shows the received and transmitted bytes for the current session under the ADSL status page.

  10. #10
    Madre Dios!!! beeswax34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Central Auckland
    Posts
    5,133

    Default Re: Questions for the Broadband Experts

    I've run Tautology Bandwidth Meter and it has ALWAYS been accurate. My ISP's and my computers totals always add up. Of course some people might have some problems, but its still a solid program.
    All the technology and software in the universe is useless when the end user has the IQ of a sack of hammers.

Similar Threads

  1. Bittorrent broadband questions
    By AMDdude in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23-11-2007, 03:18 PM
  2. broadband questions
    By Sam Bos in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-07-2007, 06:40 PM
  3. Broadband speed questions
    By kiwibits in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-10-2006, 12:24 AM
  4. ati experts please!
    By Tux in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22-01-2005, 06:23 PM
  5. Are there any PHP experts around?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-05-2002, 12:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •