Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Spyware

  1. #1

    Default Spyware

    I run Avast anti virus but have no anti spyware software running on my win XP Lap top. Should I have some sort of anti spyware running?....and if so..which one? And are there any good free one's out there? Thanks...
    Last edited by kennybouy; 29-07-2008 at 12:10 PM.

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Spyware

    It's the ANTI spyware you want running, not the spyware.

    SUPERAntiSpyware is good for a live monitoring program, and Spybot Search and Destroy does well at cleaning the mess up after it's got onto your PC.

    If you install Spybot, make absolutely sure you untick the options for SDHelper and TeaTimer during the install, they slow down the PC and cause problems.

    Both those programs are free.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Spyware

    Quote Originally Posted by kennybouy View Post
    Should I have some sort of anti spyware running?
    One antivirus
    One 3rd party firewall
    3 antispywares

    Superantispyware
    Spybot (without teatimer)
    Spyware Terminator

    are all free or have free versions
    wipe your paws.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Spyware

    The latest version of Avast incudes Anti-spyware, and Anti-rootkit

  5. #5

    Default Re: Spyware

    Speedy...in your opinion, all I need is the Avast free anti soft ware?

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,038

    Default Re: Spyware

    I wouldn't trust on only 1 Antispyware - No One will catch every thing.

    The suggestion Pctek made in post #3 is a very good setup.

    Eg: Customer I went to today, had Spybot only, said it was clean, installed and ran Spyware terminator - located and removed 21 more.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    685

    Default Re: Spyware

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    If you install Spybot, make absolutely sure you untick the options for SDHelper and TeaTimer during the install, they slow down the PC and cause problems.
    Are you sure that the problems you refer to aren't related to other software you have installed?

    I have been running SD Helper and TeaTimer for years without any problems. Itunes slowed my computer much more, so did Norton software.

  8. #8
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Spyware

    Teatimer is Ok, SPyware Terminator has a similar thing, in fact theres loads of those type of things, they can be a bit annoying is all...............So I skip it.
    wipe your paws.

Similar Threads

  1. Is WGA is a spyware?
    By stingray68 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 03:02 PM
  2. Possible spyware???
    By The_End_Of_Reality in forum PressF1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 29-04-2006, 04:02 PM
  3. WHY MORE SPYWARE
    By olldaddy78 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14-05-2005, 07:04 PM
  4. Anti-spyware installing spyware ?
    By wmoore in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14-02-2005, 01:13 PM
  5. spyware
    By 4BUGS in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2003, 07:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •