Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,649

    Default New mobo not posting

    Hi
    just installed this mobo Asus p5kpl-cm, everything plugged in correctly turned on no post, no bios and tried XP disk that I know works nothing screeen stays blank. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,075

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    Is the graphics card an integrated card or a dedicated (PCIe or AGP) one? It may be a faulty card.
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  3. #3
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,603

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    Lights? Fans? Beeps?
    Board shorting out against mounting spacers?, (too many fitted?, easy to do ).
    Cards pushed in/lined up with slots? (video and ram, have had boards not line up correctly with case backplane/slots and cards pulling out).
    Take board out of case and connect everything, if it still doesnt boot, try disconnecting or substituting until it does, if still not, maybe is DOA.
    Last edited by feersumendjinn; 27-06-2008 at 07:32 PM.
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  4. #4
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,649

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    Its intergrated even tried my old working PCie card and still nothing. I removed the RAM and got no beeps either

  5. #5
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,603

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    Definitely plugged in the 20pin PLUS 4 PIN power plugs into motherboard?
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    How much ram is installed?? / how many ram slots are filled?

    According to the ASUS FAQ for this mobo

    For some reasons, my system just refuses to boot when loading four DIMMs onto this motherboard.

    System works like a champ when installing these DIMMs onto the motherboard separately under one or two dimm configuration.
    Is this normal?

    Yes, this is normal.

    Due to Intel G31 chipset limitation, this motherboard can only support up to four banks of DIMM in total.

    Installing memory over this limitation will result in system fail to boot completely.

    Please use all single sided DIMMs if wish to occupy all four DIMM slots on this motherboard.

    This applies to your mobo, the P5KPL/C-1600/VM

  7. #7
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,649

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    Yes its a 24 pin and the 4 pin both plugged in correctly just off to the garage for another poweer supply

  8. #8
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,649

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    this mobo only has 2 slots and saccording to the manual should run double or single sided RAM

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    Hmm youre right

    Whats the speed / specs of the CPU??

    The BIOS on the system may not support it

    If the CPU is

    Core 2 Duo E7200 (2.53GHz,1066FSB,L2:3MB,65W,rev.M0)
    Core 2 Duo E7300 (2.66GHz,1066FSB,L2:3MB
    Core 2 Duo E8300 (2.83GHz,1333FSB,L2:6MB,65W,rev.C0)
    Core 2 Extreme QX9770 (3.2GHz,1600FSB,L2:2X6MB,rev.C1,4 cores)

    You need BIOS update 0509

    Or this

    Core 2 Quad Q9450 (2.66GHz,1333FSB,L2:12MB,rev.C1,4 cores) 0512 beta

    Other CPU's should work with the BIOS that's on it (0305 the first BIOS release) according to the ASUS site
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 27-06-2008 at 07:57 PM.

  10. #10
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,649

    Default Re: New mobo not posting

    ITs my old P4 the mobo does support it I'm stumped. if I remove the RAM it should beep right? well it didn't

Similar Threads

  1. NOT EVEN POSTING
    By globalion in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2005, 11:16 AM
  2. Posting message with pic or gif
    By nickitwo in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2003, 09:03 PM
  3. Posting
    By Cyberdude in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-01-2003, 06:51 PM
  4. Posting ID
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-01-2002, 08:02 PM
  5. Posting Forms
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-1999, 05:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •