Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Calling MS NZ

  1. #1
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,905

    Default Calling MS NZ

    I am rebuilding my comp this week after the Mobo died and am going to reinstall my XP, if it doesn't validate I have to call MS NZ? Correct? I will have to do this from work possibly so what info will they ask for just my product key? or anyhting else?


  2. #2
    Madre Dios!!! beeswax34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Central Auckland
    Posts
    5,133

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    Just your product key and maybe a few of your personal details.
    All the technology and software in the universe is useless when the end user has the IQ of a sack of hammers.

  3. #3
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,905

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    Oh ok thanks should be fine then just did not want to call them and not have the correct info

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,502

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    They usually wont actually ask for the product key, you call them on the toll free number 0800 676 334, then press 2 (From Memory) you need to enter in the 36 or 42 digit code (cant remember the amount off the top of my head) on a touch tone phone that windows generates . No letters like in the product code.

    You then wait and listen to the woffle about already being installed and if you think this message is incorrect press 1 (from memory again) to actually speak to a person.

    You then answer any questions, like is it installed on any other PC's etc.

    As long as they believe you, they then give you a new 36/42 digit code, 3 numbers at a time which you are meant to enter, mind you if you don't have the PC you will need to tell them that.

    They usually don't ask for the actual product key unless there is a problem.

    As you may guess I have done this a few times
    Last edited by wainuitech; 24-06-2008 at 06:45 PM.

  5. #5
    Madre Dios!!! beeswax34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Central Auckland
    Posts
    5,133

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    Weird, they asked me for my product key when I called. Must have been an exception rather than the rule.
    All the technology and software in the universe is useless when the end user has the IQ of a sack of hammers.

  6. #6
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    So Gary67. You want to validate the O/S from work rather than at home possibly?

    Unlike others I am really not sure how this would work other than remote control.

    Doing this at home is easy. Validating from work brings in other issues maybe.

  7. #7
    Madre Dios!!! beeswax34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Central Auckland
    Posts
    5,133

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    What are you talking about? All he has to do is call MS who will give him a new product/serial key.

    Then he writes it down on paper.

    Takes said paper home and enters it into his home PC. It is now validated.
    All the technology and software in the universe is useless when the end user has the IQ of a sack of hammers.

  8. #8
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,502

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    Every time I've done it when it doesn't validate, I have had to enter by phone the numbers Widows generates, go through the usual - yes its only on one PC, or the reason its saying its already validated is because the Motherboard blew and that's being changed then they give new numbers.

    Only twice had to give the actual Product key (COA) it was something in the first 6 numbers that must have set of something as " this is not right".
    Once I had to give the COA, as well as the X?? -????? numbers (small print numbers on the COA), they cross checked those and then issued a new code.

    Personally I 'd do it from home - doesn't cost anything as its a 0800 number.

  9. #9
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,814

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Personally I 'd do it from home - doesn't cost anything as its a 0800 number.
    Yea you can even to do from a cell phone, I do all the time.
    It would be easier to be in front of the PC at the time of calling.

  10. #10
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: Calling MS NZ

    Quote Originally Posted by beeswax34 View Post
    What are you talking about? All he has to do is call MS who will give him a new product/serial key.

    Then he writes it down on paper.

    Takes said paper home and enters it into his home PC. It is now validated.

    You mean people actually write these days on paper?
    And they also do it correctly without using TXT?
    Wow. I am learning more each day.

    What is a new product/serial key when it comes to activation Beeswax?
    You would need an activation code which is somewhat different from the usual 25 characters.

    But of course you know this already do you not?

    Gary67 may be able to validate from work and get a validation code and write it down or copy and paste and send to printer.

    There again Gary67 may not have a job after doing this sort of thing from work. If I found a person using a work computer for other purposes then they may not have a job.

    Personally I would do it from home.

Similar Threads

  1. Kia Ora Calling Cards
    By aidanmaz in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 05:48 PM
  2. Calling all non-IE browsers
    By jamesyboi in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22-08-2006, 04:25 PM
  3. Calling all IRC Guru's
    By Chilling_Silence in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 20-11-2004, 10:21 AM
  4. Calling Excel from VB
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2002, 03:33 PM
  5. Calling bm ...
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2001, 11:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •