Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    534

    Default New router, new problems

    Well finally upgraded to a new router, got the linksys WAG54GP2v2

    Big problem though

    Any computer, on wireless, works fine

    But only one computer can get on the internet at a time when plugged into lan, if you plug in a second computer dns fails, which is a complete pain, i dont relaly know what else i can say

    both are manually setup with specific ip's, and use 192.168.1.1 for dns because thats where i assumed it would work, and it did, untill i got the second comp on, completely different main ip, but dns is same ip, then dns fails hard lol

    anyone know whats going on?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    534

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    Cant edit posts anymore? lame

    i think i know what it is now

    but i cant figure out how on earth to set up the router to give specific computers specific ip addresses :S

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sunshinebay
    Posts
    1,246

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    Codex
    I have been using the wag54gp2 for a couple of years and just about without a problem.
    the 192.168.1.1 would be the router's IP
    give all the PC's an individual IP, static; like 192.168.1.5x and the next ones each one one above. Make sure all are under the same work group name, untick the simple files haring in:my computer/tools/folder options/view/use simple file sharing.
    In the router untick use DHCP!
    Another place to find help is here
    NT
    "B.M. The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else": The working class! Let's make sure we vote next time!

  4. #4
    Senior Member MushHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    508

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    When you say DNS fails, are you sure its DNS? - i.e. can you access the internet only if you use dotted IP addresses?

    Does the 2nd PC have 192.168.1.1 set up as the default gateway?

    You should be able to use DHCP on the router - I know most routers I've used over the years have given the DHCP server the ability to set up an address reservation (via the LAN port's MAC address) if you want to give one of your PC's a fixed (known) address every time.
    There are 10 types of people in this world - those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    534

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    Quote Originally Posted by notechyet View Post
    Codex
    I have been using the wag54gp2 for a couple of years and just about without a problem.
    the 192.168.1.1 would be the router's IP
    give all the PC's an individual IP, static; like 192.168.1.5x and the next ones each one one above. Make sure all are under the same work group name, untick the simple files haring in:my computer/tools/folder options/view/use simple file sharing.
    In the router untick use DHCP!
    Another place to find help is here
    NT
    ive got it to a working stage now with trial and error :/

    Quote Originally Posted by MushHead View Post
    When you say DNS fails, are you sure its DNS? - i.e. can you access the internet only if you use dotted IP addresses?

    Does the 2nd PC have 192.168.1.1 set up as the default gateway?

    You should be able to use DHCP on the router - I know most routers I've used over the years have given the DHCP server the ability to set up an address reservation (via the LAN port's MAC address) if you want to give one of your PC's a fixed (known) address every time.
    yeah ip's worked but not names eh

    I tried setting it up so it auto assigned the ip's i wanted for both the computers, but only my xp computer took the correct ip, my main, vista, one refuses to take anything but 64

    ugh what a pain

    thanks for the input though

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    5,069

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Codex View Post
    Cant edit posts anymore? lame
    You only have 15 mins (I think) to edit your post.

  7. #7
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,483

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    I had a similar problem when I changed from Xtra to Vodafone/Ihug.
    Some computers worked ok on auto but one refused so I set it up manually.

    Your Router address is: 192.168.1.1 (default gateway)
    Computer address is: 192.168.1.2 to 132
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    IP DNS Primary Xtra: 202.27.184.3
    IP DNS Secondary Xtra: 202.27.184.5

    Or Ihug: 203.109.252.42
    203.109.252.43

    Note: These are set in your computer network, not the Router.

  8. #8
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Codex View Post
    Well finally upgraded to a new router, got the linksys WAG54GP2v2

    Big problem though

    Any computer, on wireless, works fine

    But only one computer can get on the internet at a time when plugged into lan, if you plug in a second computer dns fails, which is a complete pain, i dont relaly know what else i can say

    both are manually setup with specific ip's, and use 192.168.1.1 for dns because thats where i assumed it would work, and it did, untill i got the second comp on, completely different main ip, but dns is same ip, then dns fails hard lol

    anyone know whats going on?
    Bugger, I just replaced mine, heap of do!!......it kept dropping connection...now have the WAG200....

    Anyway, why are you using static addresses?...change to DHCP and DNS will come thru with IP Addresses!
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  9. #9
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Codex View Post
    ive got it to a working stage now with trial and error :/


    yeah ip's worked but not names eh

    I tried setting it up so it auto assigned the ip's i wanted for both the computers, but only my xp computer took the correct ip, my main, vista, one refuses to take anything but 64

    ugh what a pain

    thanks for the input though
    If you want IP to resolve names, you will need hosts file to have the addresses of your router and any other address on your network...
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sunshinebay
    Posts
    1,246

    Default Re: New router, new problems

    Quote Originally Posted by mzee View Post
    I had a similar problem when I changed from Xtra to Vodafone/Ihug.
    Some computers worked ok on auto but one refused so I set it up manually.

    Your Router address is: 192.168.1.1 (default gateway)
    Computer address is: 192.168.1.2 to 132
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    IP DNS Primary Xtra: 202.27.184.3
    IP DNS Secondary Xtra: 202.27.184.5

    Or Ihug: 203.109.252.42
    203.109.252.43
    Note: These are set in your computer network, not the Router.
    Interesting: mine are(xtra):
    DNS primary:202.27.158.40
    DNS secondary 202.27.156.72
    Are mine not the right ones?
    "B.M. The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else": The working class! Let's make sure we vote next time!

Similar Threads

  1. Problems with Belkin router
    By sarel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29-04-2008, 12:30 PM
  2. Wireless router problems
    By jwil1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-03-2008, 10:18 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13-01-2007, 01:29 PM
  4. wireless router problems
    By Alison in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-03-2006, 11:00 AM
  5. DSE ADSL Router problems
    By smashedlittlebugger in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 08:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •