Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default If you thought Telecom's free modems

    Were bad, you're lucky you're not with Optus in Oz.

    How kind of them to provide a free modem, which is similar to this

    The catch is, the firmware on the above page doesnt work with it.

    Because Optus make their own firmware ! And its buggy as. You'll be lucky, if you manage to stay on the net, after 30 mins (it disconnects you like every 30 mins, from the net).

    If you're using ethernet / wireless thats fine. They stay connected. But that doesnt help, if you cant stay on the Internet.

    So, if you have mates in Oz, tell them to keep clear of the free modem Optus hands out !

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,461

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Were bad, you're lucky you're not with Optus in Oz.

    How kind of them to provide a free modem, which is similar to this

    The catch is, the firmware on the above page doesnt work with it.

    Because Optus make their own firmware ! And its buggy as. You'll be lucky, if you manage to stay on the net, after 30 mins (it disconnects you like every 30 mins, from the net).

    If you're using ethernet / wireless thats fine. They stay connected. But that doesnt help, if you cant stay on the Internet.

    So, if you have mates in Oz, tell them to keep clear of the free modem Optus hands out !

    Who said telecom modems where bad. I also prefer to buy my own modem
    , instead of being locked into a contract

  3. #3
    Senior Member Greven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    3,740

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    The Dlink 502Ts that they used to give out were good routers, but they have changed brands - they now give out horrible speedtouch routers.

  4. #4
    Modulator Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    9,115

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    I agree. The one I got a couple years ago did its job.
    Bugger the cancer. I'm suffering from terminal inertia.

  5. #5
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,606

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Were bad, you're lucky you're not with Optus in Oz.

    How kind of them to provide a free modem, which is similar to this

    The catch is, the firmware on the above page doesnt work with it.

    Because Optus make their own firmware ! And its buggy as. You'll be lucky, if you manage to stay on the net, after 30 mins (it disconnects you like every 30 mins, from the net).

    If you're using ethernet / wireless thats fine. They stay connected. But that doesnt help, if you cant stay on the Internet.

    So, if you have mates in Oz, tell them to keep clear of the free modem Optus hands out !
    Then why not flash it back to the original firmware?
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  6. #6
    Señor Member nofam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mollywood
    Posts
    2,323

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    Yup - I can attest to how crappy the new Telecom Thompson modems are - everything is locked down, even under an admin login, and if you power them off, you lose your username/password, and need to re-run the install CD.

    Say what you like about the old D-Link gear, but it worked fine!!
    .
    .
    .

    Got a natural pearl in my calloused hand
    ...Saved for the girl who could really understand
    ......What it takes to see
    .........The gold from the alchemy

  7. #7
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,606

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    Anyone want to give me one so I can play with the firmware?
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,461

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    Quote Originally Posted by nofam View Post
    Yup - I can attest to how crappy the new Telecom Thompson modems are - everything is locked down, even under an admin login, and if you power them off, you lose your username/password, and need to re-run the install CD.

    Say what you like about the old D-Link gear, but it worked fine!!
    Ok, so I assume they have now changed their modem supplier. I guess they had to, as they are now offering broadband so cheaply, but still giving away a free modem. Thompson branded anything is rubbish IMHO. Isn't it a BDT Melco brand?

  9. #9
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    The 302G was questionable, but everything after that was fine. No complaints. I don't know if I've ever heard anyone complaining about a post 302G modem from Telecom.

    The Speedtouch modems are gayer than George Michaels.
    Last edited by wratterus; 02-06-2008 at 01:12 PM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  10. #10
    Madre Dios!!! beeswax34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Central Auckland
    Posts
    5,133

    Default Re: If you thought Telecom's free modems

    But are they gayer than Liberace?
    All the technology and software in the universe is useless when the end user has the IQ of a sack of hammers.

Similar Threads

  1. Telecom's new CEO first speech
    By Digby in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-10-2007, 05:37 PM
  2. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-02-2007, 10:21 PM
  3. how to use telecom's wi-fi hotspots?
    By lance4k in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-06-2006, 06:44 PM
  4. Telecom's T3G? It's not 3G!
    By jesseycy in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2005, 11:24 PM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-03-2004, 02:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •