Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Lan issues

  1. #1
    Non-Edible Member a helpless random's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Behind You With A Very Sharp Large Knife...
    Posts
    164

    Exclamation Lan issues

    Hi
    My pc(signature)'s Ethernet stopped working about 5 weeks ago, it was not connecting to the internet or local LAN games through ethernet, i have a Dlink DSL-G604T router and i have another computer connected to it via ethernet too, that computer works fine still, i tried 3 different cables and XP,Vista and linux. i rolled back drivers, tried original drivers on the disk, downloaded newest drivers from gigabyte but still no LAN. So i returned it because it is on warranty. However when i got it back they said they had found it to be faulty and replaced it but when i tried it it still didnt work, so i took it to my friends house and it worked with his router I am completely lost and need anyones ideas on how to get it to work at my house. internet works with the dwa-110 usb wireless adapter i have. PS i use internet through the dwa-110 usually but lan for gaming.
    Any ideas welcome
    Thanks
    MB:Asus P5QCCPU:C2Q Q6700 @ 3.6ghz StableCooler:Iceage 120. Ram:GSKILL 2GB DDR3-1333.Case:SilverStone TJ06PSU:500w SS.HDD:500GB Sata.GFX:Temporary 8600gts 256mb

  2. #2
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Lan issues

    Are you using a wired or wireless connection to the dlink router, I'm confused, if wireless them perhaps you are using incorrect encryption or perhap you have a MAC filter on the router. That is about the only reason I can think of as to why your pc would work on your friends, but not your own....unless I'm missing something esle?
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  3. #3
    Non-Edible Member a helpless random's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Behind You With A Very Sharp Large Knife...
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Lan issues

    Sorry, I am using wireless usually for my internet but occasionally i will plug it in through ethernet to play a lan game with my other computer, i tried a lan game a while ago and it wouldnt detect so i tried the internet through my ethernet niether worked through ethernet. But my internet works through the wireless.
    thanks
    MB:Asus P5QCCPU:C2Q Q6700 @ 3.6ghz StableCooler:Iceage 120. Ram:GSKILL 2GB DDR3-1333.Case:SilverStone TJ06PSU:500w SS.HDD:500GB Sata.GFX:Temporary 8600gts 256mb

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Lan issues

    Sounds like stuffed LAN drivers or a stuffed ethernet port

    If it works fine with wireless.

    Did you check and see if the LAN was actually enabled in the BIOS?

  5. #5
    Non-Edible Member a helpless random's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Behind You With A Very Sharp Large Knife...
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Lan issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Sounds like stuffed LAN drivers or a stuffed ethernet port

    If it works fine with wireless.

    Did you check and see if the LAN was actually enabled in the BIOS?
    Hi
    Sorry i havnt been clear at all, i returned the mobo and got a new one back(same model) but this one wont work either but i tried on a friends router and it works, but not on my router and other pcs work with my router
    thanks
    MB:Asus P5QCCPU:C2Q Q6700 @ 3.6ghz StableCooler:Iceage 120. Ram:GSKILL 2GB DDR3-1333.Case:SilverStone TJ06PSU:500w SS.HDD:500GB Sata.GFX:Temporary 8600gts 256mb

  6. #6
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Lan issues

    The ethernet port on your motherboard does not work with your router?, but works with other routers?
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  7. #7
    Septuagenarian
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: Lan issues

    The only thing I can think that could cause this is if you had configured some sort of Mac Address Filtering using the mac adress of the ethernet adapter that has been replaced. Your router would not know the mac address of the new ethernet adapter and your friends router may not care because it may not be configured to check, your wireless card mac address probably hasn't changed so it still works.
    Just a thought.

  8. #8
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,344

    Default Re: Lan issues

    Quote Originally Posted by a helpless random View Post
    i tried a lan game a while ago and it wouldnt detect so i tried the internet through my ethernet niether worked through ethernet.
    When you say "it wouldn't detect" what exactly do you mean? That the cable is not detected as being plugged in? there are no lights to indicate it's plugged?

    If so, check your cable isn't broken, check you're using the right type (crossover vs straight)

    If it detects the link and the cable is fine then it's probably something wrong with software. What error does windows give? does it even get an IP address? or is it unable to attain one?

    Sometimes you can get a half-faulty cable that will tell you it's connected but nothing will ever work
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  9. #9
    Non-Edible Member a helpless random's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Behind You With A Very Sharp Large Knife...
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Lan issues

    the lights on the ethernet port go on but it says limited connectivity identifying... .i have tried 4 cables that im sure 3 of them work and have tried linux, xp nd vista. the lights on the router go on too. but still wont work
    thanks
    MB:Asus P5QCCPU:C2Q Q6700 @ 3.6ghz StableCooler:Iceage 120. Ram:GSKILL 2GB DDR3-1333.Case:SilverStone TJ06PSU:500w SS.HDD:500GB Sata.GFX:Temporary 8600gts 256mb

  10. #10
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Lan issues

    Do you have any other pc's wired directly to ethernet ports on the router, sounds like the switch on the router is failing, I have had several routers fail at the switch, it is no uncommon.
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

Similar Threads

  1. DNS Issues
    By CYaBro in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14-10-2008, 11:43 AM
  2. IDE issues!
    By Damz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 04-11-2007, 10:00 PM
  3. SLI Issues
    By Ravennoir in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-11-2006, 05:35 PM
  4. VPN issues
    By fatcam in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-2005, 12:43 AM
  5. RAM Issues
    By hwhesketh in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-11-2002, 06:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •