Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Wolfdale E8400

  1. #1
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,995

    Default Wolfdale E8400

    Is anyone using this CPU?
    I am looking at getting one but are concerned about which motherboard to use it with.
    For example most of the Asus mobos I have checked out require a Bios update to be compatable. The P5KR appears to be an exception.

  2. #2
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    Get the 7200, cheaper and clocks very well...
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  3. #3
    in for the kill
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    750

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    All motherboards require a BIOS update for the newer 45nm CPU's. They may say they support it but only with a new BIOS. Usually they work regardless but it throws you a warning each time you startup to update the BIOS.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,995

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    Quote Originally Posted by trinsic View Post
    All motherboards require a BIOS update for the newer 45nm CPU's. They may say they support it but only with a new BIOS. Usually they work regardless but it throws you a warning each time you startup to update the BIOS.
    What about the Intel DX-38BT would that still require an update?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,995

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    Quote Originally Posted by SolMiester View Post
    Get the 7200, cheaper and clocks very well...
    Yes it may be cheaper but I think I'd like the extra horspower.
    I was just reading a review on the E8400 & they ran it up to 4.3GHz without getting to hot.
    I dont overclock anyway, I'd rather start with what I want.

  6. #6
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    Quote Originally Posted by Driftwood View Post
    Yes it may be cheaper but I think I'd like the extra horspower.
    I was just reading a review on the E8400 & they ran it up to 4.3GHz without getting to hot.
    I dont overclock anyway, I'd rather start with what I want.
    The 7200 is a better clocking chip......
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    Hi. I'm using the E8400 on a Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4 motherboard. It booted and worked fine with the original bios but I can't tell you much about that - I updated the bios very soon after. If you are nervous about bios updating it is pretty easy with Gigabyte - you can update in Windows using @bios, which is great of like me you don't have a floppy drive. I'd spend the little extra on the E8400. Also, the GA-EX38-DS4 motherboard seems to be in pretty good supply now. I'd get that rather than the GA-X38-DS4. The EX is about the same price but has extra power saving features. There is a comparison here http://www.bjorn3d.com/read_pf.php?cID=1227

    In short, I haven't tried the E7200 but I'd spend the extra $80 for the E8400. It has a faster clock, probably doesn't need oveclocking but if you are into that people have commonly reported clocking to 3.6GHz on air with no problems. Why build a nice new PC and save $80 buying an inferior CPU? My 2 cents anyway.

    Regards,

    Brett

  8. #8
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    Quote Originally Posted by Brettp View Post
    Hi. I'm using the E8400 on a Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4 motherboard. It booted and worked fine with the original bios but I can't tell you much about that - I updated the bios very soon after. If you are nervous about bios updating it is pretty easy with Gigabyte - you can update in Windows using @bios, which is great of like me you don't have a floppy drive. I'd spend the little extra on the E8400. Also, the GA-EX38-DS4 motherboard seems to be in pretty good supply now. I'd get that rather than the GA-X38-DS4. The EX is about the same price but has extra power saving features. There is a comparison here http://www.bjorn3d.com/read_pf.php?cID=1227

    In short, I haven't tried the E7200 but I'd spend the extra $80 for the E8400. It has a faster clock, probably doesn't need oveclocking but if you are into that people have commonly reported clocking to 3.6GHz on air with no problems. Why build a nice new PC and save $80 buying an inferior CPU? My 2 cents anyway.

    Regards,

    Brett
    Here is a quick easy quide for you on the 7200. But hey, not me buying, just giving some advice.
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  9. #9
    in for the kill
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    750

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    Quote Originally Posted by Driftwood View Post
    What about the Intel DX-38BT would that still require an update?
    If it came out after the 45nm CPU's then it probably wont require a newer BIOS. My GA-P35-DS3R required a BIOS update. I chucked my E7300 in, it threw an error about needing to update BIOS. Got the new BIOS and was done in 5 minutes. Didn't need another computer to do it either, but this may be different for each motherboard maker so can't be 100% certain.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,995

    Default Re: Wolfdale E8400

    OK I've been offered a E8400 for the same price as a E7300 so thats sorted.
    Just looking for a good deal on a mobo.

Similar Threads

  1. OC e8400
    By calebcc in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15-09-2008, 10:09 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-02-2008, 09:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •