Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,653

    Default using dual monitors on HP docking station

    Hi guys as the topic states I'm trying to use dual monitors on an HP docking station (model EN488AA)

    I have 2 brand new ones and can't get dual monitors working on either of them.

    The DVI ports don't seem to work on these docking stations, I've tried several other ones we have and they don't give a signal off the DVI port either. VGA works fine.

    Any ideas?

    cheers,

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    According to the HP site, these are compatible with it

    Business Notebook & Tablet PCs
    HP Compaq 6515b Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq 6710b Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq 6715b Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq 6910p Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq 8510p Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq 8510w Mobile Workstation
    HP Compaq 8710p Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq 8710w Mobile Workstation
    HP Compaq nc4200 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nc4400 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nc6120 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nc6220 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nc6230 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nc6400 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nc8230 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nc8430 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nw8240 Mobile Workstation
    HP Compaq nw8440 Mobile Workstation
    HP Compaq nw9440 Mobile Workstation
    HP Compaq nx6120 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nx6125 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nx6320 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nx6325 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nx7400 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nx8220 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq nx9420 Business Notebook PC
    HP Compaq tc4200 Tablet PC
    HP Compaq tc4400 Tablet PC

    (except nx6110 and selected 2006 models)

  3. #3
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,653

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    Yep, I'm using a 6710b... have the latest updates and currently online with HP who have no idea what they are doing?

    When I use the VGA port Windows detects the display fine...
    When I use the DVI port nothing happens... Windows doesn't detect the monitor at all... I have tried several brand new monitors, docking stations, DVI and VGA cables without any luck.


    Any thoughts...
    Last edited by chiefnz; 10-04-2008 at 04:37 PM.

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

  4. #4
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,811

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    On my Acer docking station I have a 22" ViewSonic attached to the DVI port.
    I have to make sure the monitor is on before turning on the laptop otherwise it won't detect it.
    Even then it shows no picture until the Windows Login screen appears.
    If it doesn't show a picture I have to press Fn+F5 to cycle through the external monitor options to select the external monitor only and then the monitor comes on and the laptop screen turns off.

  5. #5
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,653

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    Well HP advise that I should take my docking station to the nearest HP service centre to have it tested....

    Ok I'll take all 8 brand new docking stations plus the other 11 which are currently in use down to the Service Centre to test the DVI ports...

    You have got to be kidding me right!!!

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    Wouldnt you configure it through the driver config??

    Like CCC if the ATI drivers are installed?

  7. #7
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,653

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Wouldnt you configure it through the driver config??

    Like CCC if the ATI drivers are installed?
    Correct Speedy... when I go into the Intel Graphics properties it states...
    "Two displays have to be connected to use the dual display function"

    Now when I have a VGA cable plugged in I can use it fine provided I'm using the notebooks screen as a one of the monitors... if I use a DVI cable then only the notebook's screen is available. The monitor using DVI isn't even detected at all.

    I have tested 4 brand new out of the box docking stations and still now luck.

    Cheers,

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    Well, here's your answer

    DVI isnt supported, on this notebook/laptop

    I think you figured that out lol
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 10-04-2008 at 09:53 PM.

  9. #9
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,653

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    Well that's just dandy... HP's own reps know nothing about their products...

    Thanks Speedy you're a legend mate!!!

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: using dual monitors on HP docking station

    No worries, HTH

Similar Threads

  1. Dual monitors
    By sthsea in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18-06-2007, 08:37 AM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-06-2007, 06:46 AM
  3. Dual Monitors
    By hsv-b0y in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14-08-2004, 10:48 PM
  4. Dual Monitors?
    By yogesh in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-07-2003, 10:04 AM
  5. Toshiba tecra 8000 docking station
    By compucon in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-02-2003, 02:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •