Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Anchored up.
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Buller
    Posts
    130

    Default Installing graphics card

    Hi,
    Do I have to do anything in the bios before installing my new graphics card.
    Running fully patched XP.

    Thanks
    Hook

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    Dont think so, the new card should take over.

    Just install it in while its off, turn it back on then install the drivers for it

  3. #3
    Anchored up.
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Buller
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    Thanks for that Speedy,

    Hook

  4. #4
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    You shouldn't have to - the one thing I'd do is to make sure you have no RAM allocated for graphics (or take it down to the minimum size), otherwise your throwing away RAM.

    Turn the PC off, plug in the graphics card, plug in the power for it if it needs an external power source, plug the monitor in, boot up and install the latest drivers from either the Nvidia or ATI site.

    Edit - pwned
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  5. #5
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    if you are replacing an existing 'addon' card then no theres nothing you need to do however if it's goin in there to replace the onboard graphics then BEFORE you physically instll the card you'll need to go into the bios and tell it to run the CARD not the onboard.........
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  6. #6
    Senior Member Thebananamonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,677

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    Edit - pwned
    Not such a bad pwnage though. Speedy is above keyboards, he has telepathy as his I/O of choice... Certainly lives up to his name that's for sure.

  7. #7
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by Thebananamonkey View Post
    Not such a bad pwnage though. Speedy is above keyboards, he has telepathy as his I/O of choice... Certainly lives up to his name that's for sure.
    True that.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  8. #8
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,598

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    Quote Originally Posted by drcspy View Post
    if you are replacing an existing 'addon' card then no theres nothing you need to do ..............
    Thats not quite correct, If you're replacing an older card with a new one, and you haven't updated the video driver (ever or even recently), you'll need to remove the old driver before installing the new (driver), you can do it after you fit the new card.
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  9. #9
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    feersumendjinn
    Quote:
    ""Originally Posted by drcspy View Post
    if you are replacing an existing 'addon' card then no theres nothing you need to do ..............""


    Thats not quite correct, If you're replacing an older card with a new one, and you haven't updated the video driver (ever or even recently), you'll need to remove the old driver before installing the new (driver), you can do it after you fit the new card.
    I'm perfectly well aware of that

    The original question was......

    Capt.Hook Hi,
    Do I have to do anything in the bios before installing my new graphics card.
    I believe I DID answer their question......
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  10. #10
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,208

    Default Re: Installing graphics card

    Let me add my 2c

    If you have an existing graphic card and you are changing from nVidia to ATI for example, then make sure you do completely uninstall the current driver before installing the new card. Once physically installed, then install the new graphic driver.

Similar Threads

  1. Help installing graphics card
    By No1Daemon in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-04-2008, 01:22 PM
  2. Quick Question before installing graphics card
    By Patrick 2003 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-09-2004, 03:09 PM
  3. Installing new graphics card
    By Piet in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-11-2003, 06:06 PM
  4. Help needed installing graphics card
    By Dennis007 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-11-2003, 03:45 PM
  5. installing a graphics card
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2000, 11:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •