Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Start Up Problem

    WinXP was working fine yesterday when I went out. Came back a few hours later and it had died.

    PC Was humming away nicely but nothing else active. Light on the mouse was off and monitor in sleep mode (orange light)

    On turning it all off and restarting still just seems dead. PC starts with no beeps, Mouse light does not come on and monitor does not come alive at all.

    If I pull out the mouse and keyboard and just have the monitor no beeps either.

    I thought it might be flat bios battery, changed that for a new one and still nothing. The PSU is only a couple of months old, 500+W

    Currently I now have it hooked up to an old CRT monitor and just with essentials mouse, keyboard and monitor and a few HDD's disconnected. Still nothing coming alive.

    Hopefully it is not an old but dead motherboard:-(
    ASUS P4 board maybe 3-4 yr old

    Anyone got any suggestions?
    Last edited by Bantu; 16-03-2008 at 08:47 AM.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    I had a PSU last 2 days once.

    Swap it out for starters.

  3. #3
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    It might be a good excuse to raid the piggy bank and built a new one.

    Just a motherboard, graphic card, memory and cpu required hopefully, maybe get all high end components for about 4k'ish.

    Maybe one of these.
    http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?item=MBDAS61200
    http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspeci...?ItemID=363062
    with a Core 2 Extreme Quad QX9775 3.2 GHz, 1600MHz FSB, Socket 775 and some good ram it should run sweet for another 3-4 years.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  4. #4
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Current PSU is a Thermaltake 750W. Installed new Nov 07
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Something I came across, earlier today. Which I've never seen before.

    IF you've got more than 1 hdd, (I've got a SATA and 2 IDE's in this).

    When I turned this PC back on (the first time) it wouldnt boot.

    So, I turned it off then on again, this is where a message saying the SMART command had failed on the slave IDE - on the post screen.

    The XP logo came up, but went no further. It hung (this is the SATA, not the IDE).

    I had to open the case and disconnect the slave, then it booted fine.

    So, you may want to check this out, if you have more than 1 hdd, and SMART is enabled for it / them in the BIOS.

    And if the above message comes up on the post screen, its a possibility the hdd it shows as failed is going to die, or something.

    And it may stop Windows from booting altogether.
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 16-03-2008 at 10:58 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    I can't get as far as BIOS Speedy. I just have blank screen.

    I will dig out an old case out of storage tomorrow, it still has a small PSU in it I can try. I find it hard to believe it is the PSU though.

    It should beep with having the keyboard and mouse disconnected I would have thought but I get nothing.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Since its an ASUS, hopefully it supports Crashfree BIOS.

    Get the latest version of the BIOS (unzip it first), and burn it to cd.

    Dont put it in a folder, it needs to be in the root / main part of the cd.

    Finalise it, then chuck it in the cd. See what happens.

    First u have to find out WHAT the model of this ASUS mobo is, and rename the bios file to a certain name.

  8. #8
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Tried that Speedy. No way to tell what is going on as I get nothing to the monitor.

    Seems a lot of conflicting info, some other forums say Motherboard, Some say CPU, some say Ram. Hard to know really.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,499

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    First try that other PSU - if it still doesn't boot, the fact that you are getting no error beeps or POST could also mean a fried board - boards can and do fail without notice.

    Try removing the RAM, and booting, if you don't get any error beeps thats a good sign of board problems or even a CPU problem.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Whats the speed of the P4 CPU in it, at the mo?

    And where in Auckland are you??

    I could try another CPU if u want, to see if the CPU you've got at the mo is OK. I've got a 2.4 and 1.5 here doing nothing right now (I think the 2.4 goes).

    I pulled it out of a case on the side of the road lol. It did work after I turned it on, I got into the BIOS.
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 16-03-2008 at 02:38 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Start Up Problem
    By patchonline in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20-08-2005, 11:09 PM
  2. Start up problem
    By RoyG in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 31-07-2005, 04:33 PM
  3. another start up problem
    By rach in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24-06-2005, 10:13 AM
  4. XP----PRE Start Up problem
    By nav2u in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-05-2003, 07:58 AM
  5. Start up problem
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-04-2001, 06:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •