Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Motherboards and MAC addresses

    Just a query for the uninitiated, I've just had to have a motherboard replaced on my Toshiba Satellite M40X laptop. A friend who knows a little more than me about it says if the motherboard has in fact been replaced then I should have a new MAC address and not the same one I had. Can anyone assist here. Just trying to make sure the job I was charged for has in fact been done!@#

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    Open a command prompt and type ipconfig /all

    The mac address, is the physical address of the LAN

    It'll look like xx-xx-xx-xx-xx-xx

    Or if the LAN is working double click on the LAN icon in the taskbar / support / details. Physical address
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 12-03-2008 at 06:49 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    Thanks for that but what I'm trying to establish is whether or not in replacing the motherboard should I have a NEW MAC address. The current situation is the repairer says they have replaced the motherboard, however the MAC address is the same as the one I had before the replacement which leads me to believe the motherboard may not have been replaced (as invoiced for) and has only been repaired. I'm trying to arm myself with correct information before going back to them..Cheers

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    I would say yup it should have a new MAC address.

    Since any system shouldnt have the same MAC address (even if the mobo was replaced)

    Thats if the NIC is onboard

    I would send Toshiba an email to verify. Laptop mobos maybe different from desktops.
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 13-03-2008 at 02:40 PM.

  5. #5
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    If the NIC is different than the previous one, you will have a new MAC address, MAC addresses are hardwired into the NIC and are never the same as any others.
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  6. #6
    Lost Cause
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,300

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    The NIC should have a different MAC address, although the Wireless will probably have the same MAC address as it will most likely be a small add-in card that can simply be swapped between motherboards.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    Yes they could have replaced the mother board and given the unit the same MAC address as most embedded network solutions are more "firmware" based then "hardware" based.

  8. #8
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,128

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    Unless you know the original MAC address, you will be none the wiser.

  9. #9
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    Quote Originally Posted by decibel View Post
    Unless you know the original MAC address, you will be none the wiser.
    Exactly... Something that disturbs me, I know my old work PCs MAC address off the top of my head (I have now been supplied with a new work PC )
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Bronx
    Posts
    1,356

    Default Re: Motherboards and MAC addresses

    Quote Originally Posted by 2mecky View Post
    Thanks for that but what I'm trying to establish is whether or not in replacing the motherboard should I have a NEW MAC address. The current situation is the repairer says they have replaced the motherboard, however the MAC address is the same as the one I had before the replacement which leads me to believe the motherboard may not have been replaced (as invoiced for) and has only been repaired. I'm trying to arm myself with correct information before going back to them..Cheers
    most of the time the MAC is burned into a chip in the network card but in some newer systems the MAC is done in firmware to make such things as system board swaps less painfull.

    at our work we have all systems in our DMZ locked down by MAC, if we swap our a server and the MAC changes then it would suck to have to change 300 firewall rules, in this case we just flash in the old MAC to the new system board.
    "Sometimes the only thing more dangerous than a question is an answer!"
    Grand Nagus - Zek

    http://brightwork.wordpress.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Motherboards
    By forfun in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-08-2005, 03:08 PM
  2. Re Motherboards
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19-11-2004, 11:13 AM
  3. motherboards
    By forrest44 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-10-2002, 01:17 AM
  4. motherboards
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-04-2002, 12:40 PM
  5. motherboards
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27-04-2002, 09:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •