Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125

    Default Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    Guys

    Currently with Actrix ISP and the PC in the study is hardwired through a DLINK 302G ADSL modem into the wall. Original xtra issue around 4 years ago.

    Looking at setting up a family PC in another room - Kid friendly and lets me actually get near my own machine without fighting through Lego websites.

    I also have phone points in that room that work fine but in order to get both PC's working on the same broadband account ' think' I need a router setup.

    I don't want to run extra cables so once again ' think' I am looking for a router with both hardwired ( study PC - as is) and wireless connectivity ( family PC in another room). I appreciate I would have to put a wireless card into one the kids PC.

    So can anyone help/ confirm or indeed add their knowledge to the best setup and best products / brands to use. Cost and value is important but reliability and ease of use balance that out.

    It would be good if the product was easy to port forward on as I also use filesharing a lot and need to do this to ensure connectivity. My IP address is not static if that makes a difference.

    Thanks for reading and help

    Ged

  2. #2
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    "hardwired through a DLINK 302G ADSL modem"

    That modem has a RJ-45 socket, plug your other computer into that maybe.

    If that does not work then yes you will need a router.

    Wall (Phone Jack) to Router. Router to Each PC via RJ-45 patch cables.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    Thanks for your reply Bantu. The othe PC is in another room in the house - a different room from where the modem is.

    I was planning on not running cables up walls into the roofspace and down into the next room hence was looking for a wireless setup for the kids pc?

    Does that make sense?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    This doesn't support wireless does it?

    If it doesnt, you'll have to buy a wireless router. Or wireless something

    Or buy another modem/router, with wireless on it.

    Which will make things easier.

    I'm using the Dlink G604GT Gen II wireless/modem router.

    I havent used the wireless on it tho. But, apart from that, I havent had any probs with the 2 of us on Xnet, and file sharing etc

    This uses port forwarding. I only use it for IRC.

    You have to have a static ip (your IP address that is, not from the ISP), for it to work properly

    I dont use P2P programs tho, its an easy way of getting infected.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by Gedc View Post
    Thanks for your reply Bantu. The othe PC is in another room in the house - a different room from where the modem is.

    I was planning on not running cables up walls into the roofspace and down into the next room hence was looking for a wireless setup for the kids pc?

    Does that make sense?
    Get a wireless router. Price ranges from $140 to $200. You can still connect yours with the cable you have. Get a wireless USB network card. Just plug into your kid's computer, enter your ISP and router settings and you are connected in a jiffy (about 5-10 mins only).

    I'm using USR9108 wireless with built-in USB print server. Connect a USB printer to the router. Your kid will be able to print wirelessly as well.
    Last edited by Taurus; 07-03-2008 at 04:16 PM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    uh you only have to put in ips on the wireless cards.

    And configure the security. And configure firewalls (if any are installed).

    If you've done it right, (once you configure all of them that is), they'll share files / print (once u configure the printer), and share the net.

    And make sure both have the same workgroup name

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    Sounds great guys.

    The router with wireless print sounds perfect as well...

    Will take a looksee and then decide on the new PC next... See how much I can get past the mrs

    Cheers

    Ged

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    Iit doesnt support wireless printing by default / natively.

    If you configure the printer properly, printing will work that is.

    As if it were connected by ethernet cable.

    (Well it has worked using wireless here, it may not with all printers).

    Altho this may also depend on how far apart the 2 pc's are. On how good filesharing / the net works, (likewise for the printer)
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 07-03-2008 at 04:28 PM.

  9. #9
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,449

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    I have a 'Netgear' WGR614 Wireless router and it works well. I forget the price but it wasn't expensive. The setup is standard, but you have security options for if you have neighbor who is within range (100ft). most laptops have built in wireless but as mentioned before, the easiest one is a USB connection.

    You can also get adapters which allow you to use the mains power lines for a Network, but it is more expensive and there are security issues.

  10. #10
    Senior Browser TideMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    ChCh
    Posts
    469

    Default Re: Help please with setup for 2 PC's and broadband

    A few years ago, we tried to solve a home networking the same way you're planning (with wireless), but it was so slow and unreliable - possibly because we were transmitting upstairs and receiving downstairs - that we bit the bullet and got the house wired with ethernet cable. It didn't cost much, $300 or so for labour + materials - less than the cost of an access point and remotes. For a sparky who knows what he's doing, it's a couple of hour's work. And they're crafty buggers, running wires down walls inside wardrobes etc.

    Now we have 3 PCs + a laptop running WinXP and an old PC running Linux on our LAN and it's trouble free. We figure the investment in ethernet was worthwhile for the reduction in frustration and hassles.
    If you wish in this world to advance,
    Your merits you're bound to enhance.
    You must stir it and stump it,
    And blow your own trumpet,
    Or trust me, you haven't a chance.

    Ruddigore, G&S.

Similar Threads

  1. Broadband Setup Help!
    By Blam in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24-06-2008, 11:22 AM
  2. W/less broadband... how to setup on 2 pcs? plz help.
    By WestMclaren2004 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16-09-2006, 05:14 PM
  3. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 21-05-2006, 05:10 PM
  4. Help!!! with new broadband setup
    By miknz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 08-04-2006, 12:29 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17-07-2004, 02:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •