Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Hi all,

    Thing of building a new PC - is the Asus P5KC mobo decent? I want to do some casual gaming and video/audio editing on it.

    Also want it to be as future-proof as possible (hence choosing one with DDR3 memory capabilities).

    If it's not any good which type do you recommend? (Would prefer to stick with Asus if possible )

    Looking to spend ~$250-$300 on it

    Thanks
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Looks alright to me. Wouldnt mind it myself

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Looks alright to me. Wouldnt mind it myself
    Thanks

    While you're at it, is this a good quality config? Would you change anything?
    Last edited by jwil1; 03-02-2008 at 09:23 PM.
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4,281

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Good enough. Although I'd add another gig of RAM. Bloody cheap they are these days.
    Meh....

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by qazwsxokmijn View Post
    Good enough. Although I'd add another gig of RAM. Bloody cheap they are these days.
    Was going to see how 2GB worked for me then think about another 1GB if I needed it. I've heard that as soon as you add 3GB+ to a x86 system you lose dual-channel RAM capability - is this true??
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Looks ok to me, but the ram, if you're getting DDR2 (since it looks like it supports DDR 2 and 3). I dont think you can use both at once.

    Its one or the other.

    Since DDR2 supports up to 8 GB. DDR3 up to 4 GB.

    And if you want to use firewire (since it looks like its got a 1394 connector), it maybe better getting a case, with a firewire port connector on the front.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by jwil1 View Post
    I've heard that as soon as you add 3GB+ to a x86 system you lose dual-channel RAM capability - is this true??
    No but you may not get all of the 3+ GB. If you get 4 GB windows (32 bit), should see around 3.25 - 3.75 GB of it.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    And if you want to use firewire (since it looks like its got a 1394 connector), it maybe better getting a case, with a firewire port connector on the front.
    There is 1 firewire port on the front - it's hidden by the drop-down door.

    http://www.ascent.co.nz/ProductSpec.aspx?itemID=355658
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by jwil1 View Post
    There is 1 firewire port on the front - it's hidden by the drop-down door.

    http://www.ascent.co.nz/ProductSpec.aspx?itemID=355658
    Ah ok then prob solved !

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Asus P5KC Motherboard

    So...If I get 3GB RAM will I be able to access all 3072MB of it at full dual-channel speed (x86 system)?
    Last edited by jwil1; 03-02-2008 at 09:46 PM.
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

Similar Threads

  1. Where can i buy Asus w3V laptop motherboard??
    By tamatama14 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-10-2007, 02:30 PM
  2. Is there any one own a Asus P5B motherboard?
    By chinadoll in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 18-10-2006, 08:19 PM
  3. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 27-01-2005, 01:11 PM
  4. ASUS K8N-E Deluxe motherboard
    By JJJJJ in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-01-2005, 08:56 AM
  5. Asus A7V motherboard
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-01-2001, 02:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •