Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    l33t h3x0r Jimmy D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    258

    Default DNS problem on home network

    Hey,
    On my home network I'm running one of telecoms free dlink DSL-502T adsl modems, linked into a 5port CNET 1000/100mbit switch and that is also linked to a dlink 100/10mbit switch and a dlink wireless AP.

    I have what seems to be a problem with the DNS. I can't ping my flatmates computers by their computer name and vice versa, but i can ping by IP address. and to access shares on each others computers instead of going to run and typing \\computername it only works if we use \\192.168.0.X if i got to network places, only our own computers show up under workgroup. (all computers are under 'workgroup')

    mine and flatmates computers are plugged into the CNET gigabit switch, the extra dlink switch is for the xbox in the lounge and a couple of other pc's. the DHCP is enabled on the adsl router (so visitors don't have to manually assign themselves IPs) but we use static IP addresses for port forwarding and such.

    I have a feeling that it might be because we're using static IPs and DHCP is enabled but that's never given me a problem before. I should also mention that the DHCP on the wireless router is turned off and the wireless router has a static IP address.

    all of our computers are running XP pro with SP2 and a couple dual boot linux.

    sorry if i've forgot to mention anything

    so any idea's?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    You dont usually ping by computer name.

    Only ip address. So thats normal

    I just tried it here. It doesnt work either.

    Did u create and share a folder?? Then try and access it?

    Is simple file sharing unticked on both?

    Any firewalls installed?

    I dont think DNS is the prob. Unless one of them cant get on the internet.

    Whats the default ip of this router??

    Is it 10.x.x.x or 192.168..x.x?
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 21-01-2008 at 10:39 AM.

  3. #3
    l33t h3x0r Jimmy D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    we use zone alarm but have allowed each others computers through. simple file sharing is disabled on both pc's, we've added appropriate security rights to our shared folders. oh i forgot to mention that once you ping the other persons computer, you can then access it by typing the computer name but it's really slow, quicker just to go \\192.168.0.x . this problem has only just happened recently in the last month or two, i can't think of why?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    Disable Zonealarm for now, see if it makes any diff.

    Then we'll know if ZA is the main prob.

    WHAT did you add to ZA?? The subnet / mask etc, or just the ips on both PC's?

    The 1st would be better.

    Did you use its wizard, or did you add the ips in ZA manually?

  5. #5
    l33t h3x0r Jimmy D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    oops, i havn't tried disabling zone alarm! should have done that thanks speedy. I've added them to ZA manually with their ip address + subnet mask.
    I'm at work atm so can't test just yet

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    I would delete the ips you added.

    And use its wizard to bring up the network cards on both.

    The name of the NICS should appear, with the subnet / mask etc, then add them.

    It may work then.

  7. #7
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    You dont usually ping by computer name.

    Only ip address. So thats normal
    Either by computer name or IP should work fine Speedy, it always has for me. Not case sensitive either.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  8. #8
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    Jimmy Try setting the Gateway IP on your computer. This would be the IP of your Router.

    I also always have the ISP's DNS server IP's set on all my computers
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  9. #9
    l33t h3x0r Jimmy D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    my DNS and Gateway ip's are the ip of the router (192.168.0.1). I can change my dns ip's to my isp's ones but they're the same in the router. the internet is working fine. i may have titled the thread wrong.

  10. #10
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: DNS problem on home network

    Quote Originally Posted by Bantu View Post
    Either by computer name or IP should work fine Speedy, it always has for me. Not case sensitive either.
    Unless you have a DNS server which has the computername and IP address of all the pc's in your home network, the only way you will get a response is via IP address, NOT computer names....
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

Similar Threads

  1. Home Network Problem
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-09-2008, 04:00 PM
  2. VISTA to XP home network problem
    By oldmgs in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16-04-2007, 11:21 PM
  3. Home network problem
    By pglasson in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2005, 01:11 AM
  4. problem with home network
    By jbai041 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-10-2004, 11:10 PM
  5. XP Home to XP Home Network Problem
    By Lee76 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2004, 04:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •