Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    So Iím the proud new owned or a 1080P TV and Iím trying to hook my computer up to it for photos, music and movies. I just canít get it to extend over to my television

    Windows detects the second monitor
    Windows knows what brand of monitor is plugged in
    Windows allows me to drag items over to the other monitor
    Windows allows me to set the resolution correctly to 1920x1080@60hz
    All I get on the TV is a nice pretty blue screen when I am on the HDMI source
    (won't even show anything at low res)

    Computer: Quadcore 2.4Ghz Q6600, 4GB RAM, 4x500GB HDD(64 bit Vista Ultimate), 1x500GB HDD(32 bit Vista Ultimate), Sapphire Radeon HD3870 512MB card (comes std with HDMI Adaptor)
    Television: 42 inch Toshiba LCD 42X3500A Fulll HD
    Monitor: 19 inch wide
    I have installed all the latest drivers and ATI Catalyst Software and have had it going using component at low res however I canít get anything to display on HDMI. I have tried an expensive Monster HDMI-DVI adaptor and the standard adaptor with an HDMI cable.
    The ATI Catalyst software also has a ďForce TV detectionĒ option that you are meant to click if the computer doesnít detect the TV (doesnít work)
    I have fiddled with the advanced setting on the TV and in the ATI software and still nothing 

    Any advice would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    Welcome to PressF1 SC0UT.

    That's quite a setup you have there, a lot of people would give their front teeth for that!

    I haven't had a lot of experience with ATI software and cards. I have heard of issues with Vista and HDMI, but not seen anything in concrete.

    Are you able to try the HDMI input on the TV with another source? Just to completely rule out the TV being at fault.

    Hope you get it sorted!
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    Thanks.
    Yea Iím going to try an HDMI DVD player tomorrow, going to borrow one.

  4. #4
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,811

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    Can you try the TV on the PC without the monitor?

    I have a 47" Toshiba LCD (Full HD) with a PC connected via HDMI but I don't have a monitor connected to the PC.

    Make sure you turn the TV on and set it to the HDMI input and then boot up the PC.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    Yea i have tried that and it didn't work.

    Are you on Vista or XP?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    Is the blue screen that one that shows when nothing is plugged in, i.e. When the TV to is set to HDMI, the screen stays the same whether you plug in the hdmi cable or not? Does the TV acknowledge in any way that it is connected, nad has/hasn't got a signal?

  7. #7
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,811

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    Quote Originally Posted by SC0UT View Post
    Yea i have tried that and it didn't work.

    Are you on Vista or XP?
    Running Vista with onboard ATI graphics.

    Your TV only has 1x HDMI input?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    1: The blue screen is the screen that indercates that nothing is plugged in, and it stays the same when it is unplugged. However it is plugged in and windows detects the TV
    2: I have 2 HDMI inputs and i have tried both of them, no luck.

  9. #9

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    Sounds to me like you may be triggering a DRM issue with vista?

    Perhaps your TV is not an approved DRM device?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: HDMI to HDTV on VISTA (pulls hair out)

    OK so i tried a HDMI DVD player and HDMI works on the TV so we know its not the HDMI port.

    whats DRM?

Similar Threads

  1. Please save the last of my hair!
    By No1Daemon in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-05-2008, 09:05 PM
  2. XP and HDTV
    By wratterus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25-05-2007, 11:22 AM
  3. modem saga and grey hair...
    By Organicpete in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-02-2005, 08:29 PM
  4. Please Save My Hair & the Cats. Word.
    By Murray P in forum PressF1
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 05-12-2003, 05:37 AM
  5. Red Hat pulls plugs on Red Hat Linux
    By 45South in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-11-2003, 10:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •