Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member powerover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    535

    Question temperature control software won't work properly in vista

    Hi everyone, i have a dell inspiron lappy.
    when i first bought it it comes with winxp, i installed "Dell inspiron/latitude/precision fan control v.3.0 by Christian Diefer", everything works fine and it gives quite accurate readings of the CPU speed and CPU load and etc.

    but when i updated to vista, the thing won't work as good. :bad pc:
    first of all it gives faulty readings of the CPU speed, quite different from the speed that vista gives me.

    secondly it won't read the temperature of my hard drive anymore.

    but apart from that everything "seem" working fine.

    any ideas? how could i fix that?

    any recommendations of other FREE temperature monitoring and control software?


    thanks in advance, cheers
    ASUS G74SX-A1
    Core i7 2630-QM
    14GB DDR3
    Nvidia GTX 560M
    OCZ Vertex 4 120GB
    OCZ Agility 3 60GB

  2. #2
    Pedant and proud of it
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    6,047

    Default Re: temperature control software won't work properly in vista

    When you upgraded, I assume you loaded the motherboard drivers. However, they might not be fully compatible with Vista. Check with Dell: they might have new drivers which are better suited to Vista.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,970

    Default Re: temperature control software won't work properly in vista

    According to This Site its the BIOS thats controlling the fan readings. As Graham has suggested look on Dells site for your lappie upgrades fromXP to Vista.

    I would have looked, but you never mentioned what Inspiration model you have, and there are plenty to chose from. The site also has alot of info, may pay to have a browse through it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member powerover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    535

    Default Re: temperature control software won't work properly in vista

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    According to

    I would have looked, but you never mentioned what Inspiration model you have, and there are plenty to chose from. The site also has alot of info, may pay to have a browse through it.
    thanks for the reply, it is a inspiron 6400. :P
    ASUS G74SX-A1
    Core i7 2630-QM
    14GB DDR3
    Nvidia GTX 560M
    OCZ Vertex 4 120GB
    OCZ Agility 3 60GB

  5. #5
    Dead
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Look slowly behind you ....
    Posts
    581

    Default Re: temperature control software won't work properly in vista

    Are you sure you have configured the software to read the right sensors?

    I am running the same piece of software on my XPS m1210 , with Vista SP1 and it works fine.
    Amd Xp 2800 , GIGABYTE GA-7N400 Pro , 1024 Megs DDR 400 ram in DC , Soon to be 128meg 9600xt ultra. 420w Enermax noisetaker , 80gig hdd

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,970

    Default Re: temperature control software won't work properly in vista

    Just looking back on the site ( link in Post #3)the 6400 is supported, you may need to redownload the software and install it again. The latest Version is 3.1, which may have been updated for Vista.
    (Windows 2000/XP/Server2003/Vista).

Similar Threads

  1. cmd commands doesn't work properly
    By heni72847 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 13-07-2007, 07:20 PM
  2. Sound doesn't work properly
    By spaceman8815 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22-05-2007, 11:33 PM
  3. Getting cdrom to work properly
    By jcr1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18-11-2005, 10:19 PM
  4. Autoplay won't work properly on win XP pro
    By jackyht in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-04-2003, 01:55 PM
  5. game doesn't work properly
    By vk_dre in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-07-2002, 03:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •