Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default ADSL router help

    I have a D-LINK ADSL WIRELESS ROUTER DSL-G604T I got from a mate and I can't get into the setup which should be at 10.1.1.1 in a browser, my question is I am still waiting for the internet to be connected so ADSL isn't working but should I still beable to get into the setup as I want to swap files between 2 computers. Or will this all work when the net is connected?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: ADSL router help

    Sounds like the same router I've got here.

    There is nothing in the router to share files.

    The only option in the router, is if you want to have a static (which you'll have to have, if u want to use some programs) or a dynamic ip address.

    You create a folder and share it on whatever, and enable file sharing to share files.

    All you have to do once ADSL is connected is log in and run wizard, and set the username/password, country, VPI,VCI,PPP etc, and whether u want Wireless enabled, or not.

    Then save the the settings, then reboot the router. The ISP you're with, should give u this info. (besides the wireless bit)

    If any firewalls besides XP's (If you're using XP), are installed these will also have to be configured for file sharing

    HOW do you want to connect whatever computers?? With ethernet or wireless??
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 21-12-2007 at 11:23 AM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    753

    Default Re: ADSL router help

    Do you have the Installation Guide for the router? There is some setup required in your network settings.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: ADSL router help

    cheers speedy
    so the only reason it appears not to be working is because the net isn't connected yet. that cool as i was thinking i mite have to go and buy a new one. And will be using mainly wireless when up and running as we have laptops.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: ADSL router help

    Double post
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 21-12-2007 at 11:33 AM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: ADSL router help

    If u cant get into the setup, is the original cable it came with connected (if its still working). This is what SHOULD be connected.

    And yup, open network connections / right mouse on your LAN connection / properties / TCP/IP.

    Change it to use the following ip, and enter something like:

    10.1.1.69, then press tab, 255.0.0.0 should appear alongside subnet, type in 10.1.1.1 for the gateway, and primary DNS.

    And the ISP primary DNS server under alternate DNS server.

    Altho if you cant get into the router, this shouldnt affect file sharing, just the net.

    (Well this depends if youre using wireless or ethernet).
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 21-12-2007 at 11:35 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Do you need a ADSL router.
    By Speedy Gonzales in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-11-2005, 05:27 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-03-2005, 09:36 PM
  3. ADSL router
    By Jackiex in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26-05-2004, 12:51 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-02-2003, 09:41 AM
  5. USB ADSL Modem vs ADSL Router
    By Clementling in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-02-2003, 12:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •