Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    when servers break...
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    25

    Default IE https problem

    i have recently installed Norton Internet Security 08 on my home computer. Now, in IE, whenever i visit https pages other then on the administrator account i installed it on, a blank page comes up and internet explorer brings up a scripting error dialog with blank fields. Any solution to this? I have tried to reinstall Norton.
    Last edited by simro; 18-12-2007 at 02:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: IE https problem

    Dump nortons, its ****.

    Lol, in all seriousness, try turning off the nortons phishing filter and the toolbar, and reset IE to deafults.

    If that doesn't work, remove nortons using this, reboot and try reinstalling.

    XP or Vista?
    Last edited by wratterus; 18-12-2007 at 02:40 PM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    when servers break...
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: IE https problem

    It's on xp and no that still doesnt work :|

  4. #4
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: IE https problem

    You tried all that in 5 minutes? Pull the other one.

    Does it work with Nortons uninstalled? (Properly uninstalled, using the tool in the link I provided earlier...)
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: IE https problem

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    You tried all that in 5 minutes? Pull the other one.

    Does it work with Nortons uninstalled? (Properly uninstalled, using the tool in the link I provided earlier...)
    He may not want to uninstall Norton if he has paid good money for it.
    It may not even be due to Norton, turning the firewall off would be a more reasonable thing to do to isolate the problem.

    Is this IE 7 that is being used.
    There are numerous things that can cause problems accessing secure sites, even something as simple as incorrect date, time or regional setting on your computer can do it.

    Go to this site and check out the list of things there.
    http://www.duxcw.com/faq/win/xp/secure.htm

  6. #6
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: IE https problem

    theres a problem with norton which norton themselves are not shouting about for sure......i discovered this on a clients pc which had very similar problems.......the ONLY way to fix it is either to dump norton (highly reccomended believe me I wouldn' t install it on my home pc even if you gave it to me and offered to pay me to do it ! ) .....or

    you need to get into the program and DISABLE transaction monitoring.....

    sound's stupid that you need to disable part of the program in order for it to work but that's what works ........it's the ONLY fix I found and that was hard work believe me !
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  7. #7
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: IE https problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Safari View Post
    He may not want to uninstall Norton if he has paid good money for it.
    It may not even be due to Norton, turning the firewall off would be a more reasonable thing to do to isolate the problem.
    You can REINSTALL it.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  8. #8
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: IE https problem

    if its the same issue I came across reinstalling it wont do a damn thing.....
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: IE https problem

    Looks like this is a common prob with NIS, not only the 2008 version.

    But the earlier versions as well.

    There's links to forums, in Google, going back to 2005, with the same issue.

  10. #10
    when servers break...
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: IE https problem

    thanks for the help its obviously not working - i will uninstall norton for good XD

Similar Threads

  1. Guess who left https on?
    By ubergeek85 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 09:17 AM
  2. Can only connect to https.
    By Miami Steve in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 17-02-2008, 03:59 AM
  3. Setup OWA and RPC over https
    By nudge109 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-11-2007, 11:45 AM
  4. Gmail logon without https?
    By alphazulusixeightniner in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-10-2004, 09:50 PM
  5. what is https ?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-12-2000, 05:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •