Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Default Slow Broadband ??

    I have switched from the slow Xtra broadband to Xnet. It was faster compared to what I have previously. It was at full throttle for 3 weeks. Last week, it slowed to a crawl. The download is only 64kbps while the upload is 160kbps. I have reset the ADSL router. The speed went back to normal but a day later, it's back to 64kbps. I have uplugged 2 other phone connections to isolate the problem but fultile (BTW they both have filters on it.) I called the Tech Support and they believed it is my line.

    I would like to have a 2nd opinion. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,889

    Default Re: Slow Broadband ??

    pretty difficult to diagnose without a lot of detail, you may have to get telecom to test your line. A few points though.

    1.Hows the phone service, not noisy or having problems?
    2. Are you using a filter on the ADSL router/modem and does it share with a phone etc. If there is no phone remove the filter completely - the router doesn't need it, does that help?
    3. can you try another modem from somewhere?
    4. is it the connection speed or throughput that's running at 64kbs? if it's still connected at high speed it's an ISP problem, if it's connecting at 64kbs then something is definately wrong.
    5. do you have a monitored alarm or sky tv and are they wired to the phone line correctly and filtered? - these are both common sources of trouble, you could try disconnecting them temporarily.
    6. if the line is ok and another modem oesn't help, then house wiring is the next suspect, a properly installed "splitter" as opposed to plug in filters is the best option

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Slow Broadband ??

    What does this site say ?

    I downloaded something earlier, it was faster than 64k.

    So, I would say there is a prob, at your end.

  4. #4
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Slow Broadband ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
    It was at full throttle for 3 weeks. Last week, it slowed to a crawl. The download is only 64kbps
    Sure you just haven't gone over your limit?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Slow Broadband ??

    I'm on the unlimited capping. I think it must be the line. I need to sort that out first I could lay blame on the ISP. Thanks for your advice folks. I really appreciate it. Thanks once again.

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member lakewoodlady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    On a need to know basis....
    Posts
    3,365

    Default Re: Slow Broadband ??

    Even on the unlimited capping I think you still have to set one? Or maybe I am wrong. Every time I find my usage up near the 80% I go in and add another GB.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member lakewoodlady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    On a need to know basis....
    Posts
    3,365

    Default Re: Slow Broadband ??

    Mmmm...... yes, just had a look at XNet's HSI thing. Looks like Unlimited means no data cap.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Slow Broadband ??

    Xnet's unlimited capping has no upper limit. It's at $1 per gB on top of the basic plan. Assuming I use 10GB a month, it will cost be about $44. No necessity to sign up for tolls.

    Finally knew what the problem is. I was on Xtra before I switch to Xnet. Out of the blue, I lost my connection. They said it was my adsl router. I'm using USR9108. So I swap with my old Telecom DLink 502 and it worked. Reason being that the DLink router still has my Xtra username and password. Which means my connection has for some unnown reason being reverted to Xtra and I'm suppose to be on Xnet. All these took 3 days to solve. I'm still logged on using Xtra. When I change the settings to Xnet, it doesn't work. They can only sort it out with Telecom tomorrow. Not sure Telecom is billing me for the hour I used. But I am not going to pay for their error.

    thanks folks for the brainstorming.

Similar Threads

  1. Slow Broadband
    By prayami in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 28-08-2008, 05:40 PM
  2. Slow Broadband?
    By royaloaks in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 16-06-2008, 09:15 PM
  3. Slow Broadband
    By Blam in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 20-04-2008, 05:58 PM
  4. Slow Broadband
    By Dulouz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-01-2006, 04:09 AM
  5. Broadband too slow?
    By flying_green_leprachaun in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-06-2003, 07:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •