Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    The Hamiltonian effie c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    804

    Default Ram speed improvement--or no?

    Hi,

    I have just installed a second 512 mb ram stick-ie a matched set,making 1.24 gb- on the advice of a lot of people who should know.
    Question ! was the speed result anything gained- answer! perhaps, just perhaps, a little.
    I was at a public meeting yesterday and there too I was told of exactly the same sentiments by an associate

    Now my XP Pro is running on dual chanel as was predicted as against single- but then what do I get?
    I have XP Pro
    3.02 cpu,40 gb h/d sp1 and 2 etc etc etc
    O K I have sold my original 512 mb stick- and it should be well worth the buyer's while to use it as it never let me down, so I am not seriously out of pocket
    Comments please?


    effie c

  2. #2
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    errrrr..........how do you get dual channel out of 1.24gb ? you need to run two matched sticks to get dual channel....and as for upgrading from say 768mb to 1.5gb the difference may be negligible...I run a little meter in my system tray which shows how much free ram there is in the system .......at the mo i'm runnin 1.5gb which is far too much cause theres always over 700mb free and often over 1gb (xp home ) perhaps you should have done the same before you bought some more ram ? Indeed if you had 768 or more before and run just 'ordinary' apps then you'd most likely have noticed there was little need for more ram. Ram does not in and of itself necessarily increase the system speed - really it'll help if you are runnin out of ram and then the system will use the virtual mem system , (swapfile) which as it's located on the hdd is much slower to read from and write to than ram. In that case addin more ram will certainly speed up the system because reading/writing to ram is FAR faster than to a hdd.
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  3. #3
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    Lots of RAM is good for gaming.
    Net, spreadsheets and emailing - nope.

  4. #4
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    yeh I REALLY only have the xtra ram so I can run virtualpc's easily...
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  5. #5
    The Hamiltonian effie c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    804

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    Hi
    The ram, is a matched pair and in fact does show in start up that it is on dual chanel
    The mere thought of gaming makes me say no to it- I am too old for that.
    I play a lot of on-line chess ( e mail and website)-I surf the net and read but rarely download what I see
    I don't mind the e mail being slow- the broadband download speed is a delight to watch and certainly no more speed needed.
    To me I would be happier if the extra ram merely speeded up my various programs already installed on my pooter- really that was all I was asking for

    drcspy, the total ram is 1.24 gb made up of two matched sticks- as you will see tomorrow

    It looks like the extra ram was an unecessary expenditure but, no matter- at my age perhaps I am rather gullible


    effie c

  6. #6
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,402

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    2 X 512MB + 2 X 128MB both pairs in dual channel is the only way I can see it would make sense
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  7. #7
    The Hamiltonian effie c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    804

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    Hi,Agent_24
    You've lost me now- I repeat as in original post,
    I have just had installed ---2 matched sticks of ram ( ie 512 mb X 2) and on "start up" the dual chanel is shown on-screen, where as before it showed only"single chanel" on start up.
    This is not a duo core set up, and the installer knows his skills and also come to that, said my speed would increase.
    I only want my "installed programs, ie Word,Excell etc" to operate that bit faster and as I am happily on broadband I don't hanker after any faster downloads
    Perhaps I am wrongly set up in the first place- in relation to the extra ram- I don't know

    effie c

  8. #8
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,402

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    I think you may have confused 1024MB with 1.24GB, they are different.

    All I was really saying, was to answer drcspy's question "how do you get dual channel out of 1.24gb ?"

    The only way you'd get that would be 2x128 and 2x512 in dual channel


    Dual channel is certainly faster than single channel, but the speed increase in simple tasks such as word processing may not be noticable
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  9. #9
    The Hamiltonian effie c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    804

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    Hi Agent_24
    Thank you- I stand corrected and mortified

    O K I goofed- at my age that can happen-
    still I would like to see the greater speed as promised by using dual channel and 1024 mb ram

    Effie c

  10. #10
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: Ram speed improvement--or no?

    Quote Originally Posted by effie c View Post
    Hi Agent_24
    Thank you- I stand corrected and mortified

    O K I goofed- at my age that can happen-
    still I would like to see the greater speed as promised by using dual channel and 1024 mb ram

    Effie c
    Who promised?

    OK you have 1 Gig RAM. 2 x 512.

    Office programs like word and excel will not notice the difference.

    Do you use an onboard graphic card? If so this will use on board RAM.

    With a 40 Gig hard drive it may be running at 5400 rpm rather than 7200 or more.
    Last edited by Sweep; 23-11-2007 at 04:44 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Vista Improvement Update
    By zqwerty in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2007, 12:29 AM
  2. ADSL speed vs Wireless Speed
    By thomas09 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-08-2006, 08:42 PM
  3. That's an improvement
    By JJJJJ in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-05-2006, 05:50 PM
  4. Web site improvement
    By straka01 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-03-2006, 06:39 PM
  5. Suggested improvement for PressF1
    By Mike in forum PressF1
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 24-10-2002, 07:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •