Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    220

    Default Xbox live problems

    So I finally get an xbox 360 and try hooking up to xbox live and have a few "issues". Turns out the crappy ADSL router Xtra gave me a couple of years ago is incompatible. So I'm looking for a recommendation for an ADSL Router for an easy hookup. I'm also running wireless in my home with a Linksys WRT54G.

    Cheers
    "Alright you primitive screwheads listen up...you see this? This is...my.....BOOMSTICK!!" - Ash (Army of Darkness)

  2. #2
    Senior Member --Wolf--'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2,449

    Default Re: Xbox live problems

    If you want to run it wirelessly (you need an adapter for the 360) I suggest the d-link G604t Gen II (telecom supplied).

    Forward the ports, and then it'll run like a charm.

  3. #3
    Junior Member LOWTEC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Christchurch/Nelson
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: Xbox live problems

    whatever you do dont get a g604t ive had two different ones in flats over the last two years and both have been absolutely rubbish, they dont remember any rules you set like port forwarding etc, you have to do it sometimes twice in a day and one of them wouldnt even remeber my wireless incryption I put on it and to top it off the user interface is extremely slow most of the time.

    However I'm not sure if the ones ive had were gen 2 so maybe they have improved them.

    in terms of what you should get im unsure as im looking for a new router
    myself and havent made a decision yet - just dont buy dlink! theres a reason telecom gives them to you for nothing....
    Last edited by LOWTEC; 17-11-2007 at 01:15 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Xbox live problems

    Nothing wrong with this Gen II. Its been fine since I got it in Sept.

    And it save settings etc no prob at all. Altho I've disabled wireless. I have no need for it at the mo.

    Mine isnt from telecom tho.

    And I'm not using telecom as my ISP either.

  5. #5
    Senior Member --Wolf--'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2,449

    Default Re: Xbox live problems

    I normally wouldn't touch anything from Telecom, but I'm not spending a cent on something I don't need to.

    I can forward ports on my G604t (I dont use wireless) and it'll remember it.

    If you have the first gen one, send it in, say it's faulty and they'll send you a gen II for free.

  6. #6
    Junior Member LOWTEC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Christchurch/Nelson
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: Xbox live problems

    yea fair enough if it anit broke dont fix it. I assume i must have 2 first gen ones cos both the one at my flat and the one at home seem to have difficulty remembering any rules I apply, thats a good idea actually might try it. I stand corrected seems dlink has improved.

Similar Threads

  1. Belkin F5D7231-4 Xbox Live Problems
    By user0010 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 04:28 PM
  2. Any Xbox Live players on here?
    By miknz in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19-11-2006, 01:12 PM
  3. xbox live setup help
    By miknz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-11-2006, 06:35 PM
  4. XBOX Live in New Zealand
    By Ashley Matthews in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-09-2005, 11:29 AM
  5. xbox live
    By TheBOKE in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-01-2004, 06:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •