Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Having a problem with media on my computer

    Firstly, I use windows vista home builder's edition 32 bit

    Now, as recently as last Friday I was able to play music and watch videos fine.
    Now however, no matter which player I use I can't get any of my music to play, and for videos they don't work at all in winamp (or any other player I try) and I can only get video, no audio, in VLC. Another media-related issue is that the Zune software on my computer is no longer syncing with my Zune when I plug it in, so while it still charges I can't sync anything to or from it or anything. Again ,this was working fine on friday.
    I've also noticed that recently, the network connection status icon in the system tray has gone from being normal to having the two computers like normal, but with a red X overlapping the bottom one and when I hold my mouse over it is says:
    "Connection status: unknown
    Server execution failed"

    At least I'm still using the internet fine - though I just discovered 5 minutes ago that if I try to open up Network and Sharing Center in Control Panel, the box goes white and freezes up and the only way I can get rid of it is by ending and restarting explorer.exe

    The only things I did over the weekend that I think could possibly be causing this are turn off UAC (I've already tried turning it back on and that didn't fix anything) and run windows update, of which there were 3 which were:
    Silicon Image - Other Hardware - Silicon Image SiI 3531 SATA Controller
    Silicon Image - Other Hardware - Silicon Image's Pseudo Processor Device
    nVidia - Video - NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS (On a sidenote I just went and downloaded the new Forceware driver from the official site today and that didn't change anything)

    And since I've run both Bitdefender Antivirus scan and a Hijackthis! scan, both of which were clean, I figure it has to be one of the first 2 updates causing the problem. If not, I'm even more screwed than I thought because I have no idea what else could be doing it.

    Any ideas or suggestions on how I can fix this?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Having a problem with media on my computer

    Is AIM installed??

    It looks like AIM 6.5 and 5.93 can cause the network prob.

    As stated here

    Did you install any of those from the WU site?? If u did, BAD idea. NEVER download/install any drivers from the WU site.
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 07-11-2007 at 08:52 AM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Having a problem with media on my computer

    I do have AIM 5.93 installed, but I don't exactly understand how this would be causing the problem since I've had it installed for a few months (In fact since I built this computer earlier in the summer). Is it coming into conflict with one of the things I got from Windows Update?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Having a problem with media on my computer

    Read the link I posted.

    A LOT of people seem to have the same prob, because AIM is installed.

    And they've somehow, figured out that AIM is the culprit/problem.

    It looks like it blocks something. And screws things up especially in Vista.

    And the AOL link
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 07-11-2007 at 08:59 AM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Having a problem with media on my computer

    Okay, I'll try the notepad thing in that thread. Can you at least explain why 5.93 is having the problem now though (even when I haven't updated to 6.5) after all this time?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Having a problem with media on my computer

    I wouldnt have a clue. I dont use AIM.

    You'll have to uninstall AIM or try whats on that site.

    To see if it fixes the probs you're having.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Having a problem with media on my computer

    Like I said, I'm trying what's on the site now and if that doesn't work I'll just switch to Pigin or something.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Having a problem with media on my computer

    Okay, didn't work.
    Tried NYs thing with local group, didn't help.
    Notepad thing didn't help.
    Still red X on server, still no media working right...

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Having a problem with media on my computer

    Uninstall it, delete its folders, then remove its entries in the registry (AOL entries I think).

    Then reboot.
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 07-11-2007 at 09:26 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Media Problem
    By toekneemac in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-02-2007, 09:12 AM
  2. media problem
    By toekneemac in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-02-2007, 11:02 AM
  3. Problem with Media Player 10
    By Clive in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-07-2005, 07:55 PM
  4. Civilization 2 and DX Media Problem
    By taxboy4 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-11-2002, 05:19 PM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-08-2002, 09:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •