Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    64

    Default Sky TV Remote control

    We have a sky decoder in our lounge and wish to be able to change channels from upstairs. A friend had a unit you placed in front of the decoder but it would only work through 3 walls. Looks like a serial port on back of decoder could that be used ?

  2. #2
    Former Hive Addict radium's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Final Table
    Posts
    1,328

    Default Re: Sky TV Remote control

    I don't think so.
    Too Stupid to Understand Science? Try Religion.

  3. #3
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,814

    Default Re: Sky TV Remote control

    There are ir systems available that use the coax cable that will be running from your TV upstairs back down to the sky decoder output.
    They are not cheap though at around $500.
    If you have the sky signal being split off to other TVs as well then it gets tricker as the infrared doesn't travel through the splitters.

    Dick Smith also have their GigaAir2727 2.4GHz AV Sender which does ir as well as AV.

  4. #4
    Retired old codger kenj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Nhapier
    Posts
    5,891

    Default Re: Sky TV Remote control

    I have a "Oneforall" remote sender between 2 rooms. I use it for changing Sky channels. Have a feed from Sky unit to family room TV

    It works well. dont know about the distance and number of walls though.

    Can be a pain though. Where I have it set up, it sees my lounge TV and I could be watching something there and when my wife channel surfs in the family room, she changes the channels on my TV as well.

    I tried the Giga Air 2.4 model and returned 2 of them to DSE under warranty.

    I could run a test on it if you want.

    Ken

    Sorry, just found out this model is no longer available. Have a look at http://www.oneforall.co.nz/ for other models.
    Last edited by kenj; 19-10-2007 at 04:54 PM.

  5. #5
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    5,096

    Default Re: Sky TV Remote control

    http://www.avd.co.nz/shop/Xantech.html

    these are quite good. they have a general kit which is good for doing sky remote setups (feeds the IR signal back down the coax cable). those guys are the importers/wholesalers but got rather stuck up about who they would supply

    eastern hifi, soundline and other good AV places will have them. they are much better than the "flood the room" type. however not a straight forward install so an installer is recommended.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: Sky TV Remote control

    Thanks for replys, will follow up next week as some on holiday

Similar Threads

  1. Remote computer control
    By TaneWha in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-07-2004, 05:28 PM
  2. REmote Control for computer
    By sjbryce in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-09-2003, 07:59 PM
  3. IR Remote Control
    By Craig_C in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21-06-2003, 08:45 PM
  4. Remote Control for a PC
    By Craig Bellhouse in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 14-11-2002, 06:49 PM
  5. Remote Control
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-11-2000, 08:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •