Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: vga plug

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default vga plug

    Hi
    Does anyone know where you can purchase vga plugs in NZ?
    My 19" CRT monitor needs a new plug but otherwise is going fine. I want to chop the cable and solder on a new plug but I don't know where I can get hold of one.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,039

    Default Re: vga plug

    Places like Dick Smiths should have them.

    Others here should be able to supply a link directly to other electronic places.

  3. #3
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,294
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  4. #4
    In a 1920s time warp Terry Porritt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Upper Hutt
    Posts
    5,361

    Default Re: vga plug

    If you have never changed a 15 pin vga plug, or made up vga cables before, then it would be a good idea to practice on a scrap monitor cable.
    A certain amount of "finesse" is required, there is not a lot of space to work in.

    Holding the plug in an adjustable clamp or small vice leaves both hands free.

    http://www.diyautomation.co.uk/electronics/vga.html

  5. #5
    Pedant and proud of it
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    6,047

    Default Re: vga plug

    The connector is called a "high density DB15", with three rows of contacts. There is a standard (longer) DB15 with two rows of contacts, which is no use to you (unless it's for an old Macintosh monitor).

    I concur with Terry: it's a very fiddly connector to solder. (I use IDC connectors where I can for all DB connectors.)

    It's imperative to have the connector held steady. Then you need only three hands to do it. It's a good idea to put a heatshrink sleeve on each pin immediately after it's soldered.

  6. #6
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,294

    Default Re: vga plug

    It might actually be easier to get a whole new cable and do the resoldering or connecting at the monitor end, provided you don't blow yourself up
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: vga plug

    Many thanks for the responses.
    I think I'll go the vga cable way and solder at the CRT end.

Similar Threads

  1. Plug Ins
    By heaton in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-02-2006, 04:12 PM
  2. Using plug converters
    By Herbie_Dog in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-01-2006, 03:09 PM
  3. What sort of plug is this?
    By bob_doe_nz in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23-12-2005, 01:24 PM
  4. Plug ins, Mozilla
    By beetle in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-04-2004, 11:49 PM
  5. Plug ins
    By dumdum in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-12-2003, 07:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •