Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PopTray & AVG

  1. #1
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,441

    Default PopTray & AVG

    Guys Im in the poooo yet again.

    I installed PopTray on a computer to try and deal with this Xtra Spam but for some reason PopTray delivers the following message.

    AVG POP3 Proxy Server: Cannot connect to the Mail Server.

    Ive got AVG and PopTray on a couple of computers and have never previously had a problem.

    Anyone point me in the right direction?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: PopTray & AVG

    I found the same thing, on someone else's PC I fixed the other day (who's with Xtra as well). I tried Poptray on that too, and errors came up.

    Its the ports I think. I dont think Poptray knows what SSL is.

    The other computers you put Poptray on, were they with Xtra as well?

    If not, thats why theyre working.

    this maybe better

    Since it supports SSL, BUT it isnt free.

    Altho I dont think its as good as Poptray
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 06-09-2007 at 07:40 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,082

    Default Re: PopTray & AVG

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post

    Its the ports I think. I dont think Poptray knows what SSL is.
    Does Poptray have to be before the AVG proxy or behind?

    The AVG Personal Email checker can use SSL to the ISP but the device on the inside doesn't have to.

  4. #4
    Wrinkly Member! B.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mount Maunganui
    Posts
    7,441

    Default Re: PopTray & AVG

    Yes Speedy, all on Xtra including my own which I’m on at the moment.

    This is the first difficulty I’ve encountered using PopTray or AVG.

    From the wording it looks like a AVG – PopTray conflict although I guess it could be a Yahoo/ Xtra problem that goes with the new territory.

    It's way above me.

  5. #5
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,556

    Default Re: PopTray & AVG

    Personally I use Mailwasher, the free version works well for most, but I use the Pro cause I got several email addresses.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: PopTray & AVG

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulD View Post
    Does Poptray have to be before the AVG proxy or behind?

    The AVG Personal Email checker can use SSL to the ISP but the device on the inside doesn't have to.
    Dont know, I dont use AVG. I tried it the other day (when I went to fix this computer, where the person also uses Xtra).

    With the new port (put it in Poptray, under accounts, it didnt work).

    I also changed Avast's ports, dont know if it scanned, when I clicked on send/receive in OE. Avast's icon on the taskbar didnt spin (like it usually does when its scanning something)..

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,082

    Default Re: PopTray & AVG

    Perhaps you could try setting Poptray/AVG like this http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showpos...96&postcount=6

    The app on the client side of AVG doesn't have to do SSL

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •