Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member Mercury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    At cloud level
    Posts
    674

    Default Desktop too small with black band around it

    I'm setting up an old computer to give to a friend.

    Computer: Celeron
    OS: Win 98
    Graphics driver: SIS 620 on the motherboard
    Monitor: old CTX

    The green desktop has a 1" black band around it so isn't maximized on the screen.

    The monitor will adjust for height but not width.

    Any ideas how to maximize it so the desktop will fill the screen?

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,042

    Default Re: Desktop too small with black band around it

    Whats the screen resolution set to ?

    Some of the Older CRT's dont like the tighter resolution, try 800 x 600 and see if that will allow the resizing from the control buttons on the CRT.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Mercury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    At cloud level
    Posts
    674

    Default Re: Desktop too small with black band around it

    Resolution is 800 x 600. Have checked advanced properties but still can't find a setting to change.

    Have tried another of our old monitors - same problem.

  4. #4
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Desktop too small with black band around it

    Graphics drivers all up to date?
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mercury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    At cloud level
    Posts
    674

    Default Re: Desktop too small with black band around it

    Have used original disk. Am on the net now trying to find if there is an update somewhere.

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,042

    Default Re: Desktop too small with black band around it

    Have seen it where the Old CRT is Nackered and wont adjust any more.

    Are you able to attach to another PC to see if its the same. ?

Similar Threads

  1. New Keyboard for Desktop - not black
    By bellbird in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-10-2008, 09:19 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 11:30 PM
  3. Wifi which band?
    By nomad in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2004, 05:40 PM
  4. OT: What is GSM band 850 used for?
    By nomad in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29-04-2004, 11:11 PM
  5. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 18-03-2004, 10:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •