Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    621

    Default cmd commands doesn't work properly

    not sure when this started to happen
    but now when I go into Command Prompt and type a command
    it won't work

    for example.. if I type ipconfig
    I'll get "ipconfig" is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    I'll have to go into the system32 folder before I can get these commands to work

    not sure how this broke..anyone know a fix?

  2. #2
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,811

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    Sounds like your path setting has got messed up.

    Can you do:

    path

    from the cmd prompt and tell us what it says?

    Another way to check is:

    Control Panel - System - Advanced - Environment Variables

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    621

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    Code:
    c:\windows\system32;c:\windows;c:\windows\system32\wbem\
    this is the same as my other xp comps
    um..werid..

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,364

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    How do you get to your Command Prompt? Start > Run > cmd ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    621

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    yup
    that's how I open it

  6. #6
    Correct my English!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cycling somewhere
    Posts
    6,292

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    Do commands work though in command.com?

    (Start > Run > "command")

    Cheers

    Free, 24/7 telephone health advice service | Healthline - 0800 611 116

    Smoking KILLS. Don't let your life be ruled by cigarettes. | Quitline - 0800 778 778 ‎

    Join the unofficial PressF1 WCG team!



  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    621

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    nope doesn't work if I use command.com either

  8. #8
    Member beama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    where eye patches are worn with pride
    Posts
    1,727

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by heni72847 View Post
    nope doesn't work if I use command.com either
    That shouldn't work .....

    NO harm was intenationally meant to cmd.com in the authoring of this reply


    unless you created a redirect to cmd.com (dont ask) or renamed cmd.com
    Which would cause all sorts of headaches for your system, xp uses cmd as it DOS emulator.
    Trust me. I know what I'm doing.Sledge Hammer

    Linux the only way to get rid of the windows boot sector virus ( Geoff Palmer , Jun 28, 2004 Tips & Help : Tux Love, PCWorld NZ)

    Parkinsons NZ


  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    621

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    command.com shouldn't work?

    I tried on my other machine where everything works..
    and if I run ipconfig or netstat etc it works fine
    under both cmd AND command

  10. #10
    Member beama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    where eye patches are worn with pride
    Posts
    1,727

    Default Re: cmd commands doesn't work properly

    want os are you using on both machines
    Trust me. I know what I'm doing.Sledge Hammer

    Linux the only way to get rid of the windows boot sector virus ( Geoff Palmer , Jun 28, 2004 Tips & Help : Tux Love, PCWorld NZ)

    Parkinsons NZ


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27-12-2007, 05:17 PM
  2. Sound doesn't work properly
    By spaceman8815 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22-05-2007, 10:33 PM
  3. Getting cdrom to work properly
    By jcr1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18-11-2005, 09:19 PM
  4. Autoplay won't work properly on win XP pro
    By jackyht in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-04-2003, 12:55 PM
  5. game doesn't work properly
    By vk_dre in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-07-2002, 02:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •