Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Active desktop

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Active desktop

    I believe I got a little hasty and attempted to restart my computer with out shutting it down first.
    In any event I get a message headed
    Active Desk top recovery

    MS has exoerienced an unexpected error. As a precaution your Active Desktop has been turned off. To restore the Active Desktop use the following troubleshooting tips.

    ......or did you restart your ........shutting it down first (as Above) If so click ... to which I get a message

    IE Script error
    Line 65
    Char 1
    Error Object doesn't support this action

    No problem booting up etc, but the desktop doesn't look very nice.

    Very slow booting up and slow in general, but I do have NAV which I note has been completely canned on this forum. At least it is 2007, which I find a noticeable improvement over the last version. I do note the comment in another part of the forum where in the last edition or so back, NAV 2007 got the Editor's Choice

    Any suggestions/help would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Senior Member george12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,507

    Default Re: Active desktop

    Try disabling and re-enabling Active Desktop. This can be done from Display Properties I think (right click the desktop, click properties).

    NAV has been 'canned' because most users here (myself included) have found that it slows the PC down dramatically, often stuffs up, and doesn't catch viruses that free AVs have no problem with.

    I have no idea why it got the award, but then, I've never used NAV 2007, it might be good for all I know.

    You probably have a lot of other rubbish running in the background. I recommend first running AdAware SE (a free download), and possibly Spybot (also free). If that doesn't help, download hijackthis and post the log here.
    ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'vbulletin'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

  3. #3
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Active desktop

    i'd guess you are running winME ? right clik the desktop and UNtick 'show webcontent'' ......that'll kill off the active desktop .....the only difference between that and 'ordinary' desktop is that you wont be able to display .jpg pics on your desktop as background.........thats a minor inconvenience.....as for norton a/v slowing down the pc it's very likely that is the case....however to check it is very simple just clik startbutton/run then type in msconfig then tap enter........in the config box goto the startup tab and UNtick 'ccaap'.....that'll stop norton loading at boot......then restart and see if it's any quicker.......
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Active desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by drcspy View Post
    i'd guess you are running winME ? right clik the desktop and UNtick 'show webcontent'' ......that'll kill off the active desktop .....the only difference between that and 'ordinary' desktop is that you wont be able to display .jpg pics on your desktop as background.........thats a minor inconvenience.....as for norton a/v slowing down the pc it's very likely that is the case....however to check it is very simple just clik startbutton/run then type in msconfig then tap enter........in the config box goto the startup tab and UNtick 'ccaap'.....that'll stop norton loading at boot......then restart and see if it's any quicker.......

    Sorry - should have said XP Pro + SP2

Similar Threads

  1. active desktop
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2002, 12:42 AM
  2. Active Desktop in Win 95
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-10-2001, 02:17 PM
  3. active desktop
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2000, 06:30 PM
  4. IE 5 and Active Desktop
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16-05-1999, 05:21 PM
  5. Active Desktop
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-1998, 07:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •