Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Member Chris815's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    167

    Default CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    Whenever I turn my computer on (or even restart it), the CPU is maxed out and I can not do anything without freezing it up.
    The process that is causing this is called 'svchost.exe' and it is a SYSTEM process. It makes the Mem Usage go up and above 100 K, and the CPU around 100%.
    It stays this way for about 5-10 minutes before returning to normal, and I can finally use it, but this is not good enough!
    I have run all software like Spybot, Ad-Aware, AVG, CCleaner, and Trojan Scan, but nothing comes up! Also, here is a HiJackThis log in case it helps:

    ------------------------------------------------

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.0 (BETA)
    Scan saved at 4:45:08 p.m., on 4/06/2007
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Linksys Wireless-G PCI Wireless Network Monitor\WLService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Linksys Wireless-G PCI Wireless Network Monitor\WMP54Gv4.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\WMPNSCFG.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\taskmgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\HiJackThis\HiJackThis_v2.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.nz/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_10\bin\ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: ImageShack Toolbar - {6932D140-ABC4-4073-A44C-D4A541665E35} - C:\WINDOWS\ImageShackToolbar\ImageShackToolbar.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WMPNSCFG] C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\WMPNSCFG.exe
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [AVG7_Run] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgw.exe /RUNONCE (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'Default user')
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_10\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_10\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: @C:\WINDOWS\ImageShackToolbar\ImageShackToolbar.dl l,-115 - {BB8A8834-A0A1-4d70-A21A-72FF89AA737A} - C:\WINDOWS\ImageShackToolbar\ImageShackToolbar.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ImageShack Toolbar - {BB8A8834-A0A1-4d70-A21A-72FF89AA737A} - C:\WINDOWS\ImageShackToolbar\ImageShackToolbar.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - %windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file missing)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - %windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://toolbar.imageshack.us
    O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
    O16 - DPF: {4F1E5B1A-2A80-42CA-8532-2D05CB959537} (MSN Photo Upload Tool) - http://by13fd.bay13.hotmail.msn.com/...s/MsnPUpld.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsu...?1173851182702
    O16 - DPF: {6932D140-ABC4-4073-A44C-D4A541665E35} (ImageShack Toolbar) - http://toolbar.imageshack.us/toolbar...ackToolbar.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsof...?1134551229140
    O16 - DPF: {A93D84FD-641F-43AE-B963-E6FA84BE7FE7} (LinkSys Content Update) - http://www.linksysfix.com/netcheck/5...l/gtdownls.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B38870E4-7ECB-40DA-8C6A-595F0A5519FF} (MsnMessengerSetupDownloadControl Class) - http://messenger.msn.com/download/Ms...Downloader.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DBA230D1-8467-4e69-987E-5FAE815A3B45} -
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: Adobe LM Service - Adobe Systems - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe Systems Shared\Service\Adobelmsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server (Avg7Alrt) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service (Avg7UpdSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG E-mail Scanner (AVGEMS) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
    O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
    O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    O23 - Service: Remote Packet Capture Protocol v.0 (experimental) (rpcapd) - CACE Technologies - C:\Program Files\WinPcap\rpcapd.exe
    O23 - Service: Sony SPTI Service (SPTISRV) - Sony Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sony Shared\AVLib\SPTISRV.exe
    O23 - Service: WMP54Gv4SVC - GEMTEKS - C:\Program Files\Linksys Wireless-G PCI Wireless Network Monitor\WLService.exe

    --
    End of file - 7158 bytes

    ------------------------------------------------


    Just so you know, I have the ImageShack toolbar and am on a Wireless Router internet connection, so those are normal.


    What can I do to stop svchost.exe from maxing out my CPU?

    Thanks.
    Thanks for your help!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    Doesnt look to bad, but u can tick these entries then tick fix checked.

    Close browser/s.

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045} - (no file)

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WMPNSCFG] C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\WMPNSCFG.exe

    Uninstall ALL versions of Sun Java, latest version is in my sig below.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    553

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    download process explorer and see what service is doing it.

  4. #4

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    I had / have exactly the same problem. It seemed to be the Automatic Windows Update - once I disabled that, it never happened again. Of course, I have not been able to update my computer since then either...

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    This was a common error a couple of weeks ago, 1 in 6 pc's that we were called in to fix had this.
    in the end rather then going to site we would send this link and then if they could not follow then we went to site.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/916089

    fter this then you can turn ms updates back on.

  7. #7
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,170

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    aaahhhhh so there IS a fix for this.. I also have this problem on one of my PCs, knew it was automatic updates but didn't know it could be fixed. I will try this out when I get home
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  8. #8
    Member Chris815's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    Thank you guys so much for your help. Here is what I did:

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Doesnt look to bad, but u can tick these entries then tick fix checked.

    Close browser/s.

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045} - (no file)

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WMPNSCFG] C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\WMPNSCFG.exe

    Uninstall ALL versions of Sun Java, latest version is in my sig below.
    I did everything you said, Speedy. I got rid of those entries on HijackThis, uninstalled both versions of Java, and installed the latest one (jre1.6.0_01).


    Quote Originally Posted by andy View Post
    I got that RegCure program and it found a heck of a lot of problems, but when I went to fix some of them it asked me to register!


    Quote Originally Posted by Tagoso View Post
    I had / have exactly the same problem. It seemed to be the Automatic Windows Update - once I disabled that, it never happened again. Of course, I have not been able to update my computer since then either...
    I turned off Automatic Updates (I had it on 'Notify me but don't automatically download or install them') and that seemed to fix the CPU problem. Thanks!


    Quote Originally Posted by wayneh View Post
    This was a common error a couple of weeks ago, 1 in 6 pc's that we were called in to fix had this.
    in the end rather then going to site we would send this link and then if they could not follow then we went to site.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/916089

    fter this then you can turn ms updates back on.
    Hm, that looks complicated. Will it fix my Updates problem? That hasn't been working lately.
    Thanks for your help!

  9. #9
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,170

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    I just downloaded the fix (it's not hard, all you need is http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en)

    Installed on my machine, works perfectly now, automatic updates only spiked to 9% cpu usage for half a second rather than using 99% for about 3 minutes
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  10. #10
    Member Chris815's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: CPU Usage maxes out when computer turned on!

    Still not helping.

    This is what I get when I try to register the DLLs:
    http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/6...problemyf6.png
    Thanks for your help!

Similar Threads

  1. Computer Beeps when turned on and won't boot
    By spaceman8815 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 31-12-2007, 07:08 PM
  2. Spying on my kids computer usage
    By scottsox2000 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 11:02 AM
  3. Computer power usage
    By lazydog in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-03-2005, 03:47 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-10-2003, 10:51 PM
  5. Power Usage Of A Computer
    By sjbryce in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-04-2003, 11:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •