Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    966

    Default Cloning only 1 Partition

    Hi
    I am wondering if anyone knows how to clone only 1 partiton out of the 3 i have. c,d,e. I thought of using acronis try image home10
    * i7 930 & Corsair H70 Hydro Cooling
    * Asus P6X58D Premium
    * 3 x 2GB DDR3-1600
    * 1X 1 TB, SATA 6 Gb/s + 1X SG 320 Sata 3 GB/s
    * Unknown SATA DVD/RW
    * Corsair 850W PSU
    * Asus 1GB EAH5850
    * Windows 7 64Bit
    * MS Security Essential

  2. #2
    Older by the minute
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitford
    Posts
    1,604

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition

    Acronis works very well. It's all you need.

  3. #3
    Photographic enthusiast Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,432

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition

    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    Acronis works very well. It's all you need.
    Yes
    Misty
    Affinity Photo 1.8 (marvellous)
    Lightroom 6
    Nik Collection
    Sumatra for PDF
    Speccy
    AZZ Cardfile

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    966

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition

    No i mean how to do it in acronis?. I can backup selected partition but will i be able to recover my pc using backup. hw different is it from clonning?.
    * i7 930 & Corsair H70 Hydro Cooling
    * Asus P6X58D Premium
    * 3 x 2GB DDR3-1600
    * 1X 1 TB, SATA 6 Gb/s + 1X SG 320 Sata 3 GB/s
    * Unknown SATA DVD/RW
    * Corsair 850W PSU
    * Asus 1GB EAH5850
    * Windows 7 64Bit
    * MS Security Essential

  5. #5
    Photographic enthusiast Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,432

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition

    Quote Originally Posted by gum digger View Post
    Hi
    I am wondering if anyone knows how to clone only 1 partiton out of the 3 i have. c,d,e. I thought of using acronis try image home10
    I have version 9 (not 10 like you), however presuming the process is much the same.

    When you open the main screen the first option is to "Backup", which is explained as "backup your files, folders or the entire hard disc". When you click on that you get the Backup Wizard. When you click next your choice is the default which is "the entire disc contents or individual partition". Clicking on next identifies the answer to your main query ie you see the individual discs and partitions and choose the partition you want - the C drive (or partition) is the default so you just click on the one(s) you want -- and click on the C drive should you want to deselect that.

    You will probably not see a "clone" option. The term backup is used consistently, whether it is just one file or the contents of multiple discs and partitions. It took me quite a while to get my head around that.
    Misty
    Affinity Photo 1.8 (marvellous)
    Lightroom 6
    Nik Collection
    Sumatra for PDF
    Speccy
    AZZ Cardfile

  6. #6
    Photographic enthusiast Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,432

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition

    Added comment to above -
    I see in "Gadget Speak"
    http://www.gadgetspeak.com/gadget/ar...me_Backup.html
    The writer says amongst other things
    Tools are available to clone a disk; add a new disk; mount an image file archive with its own drive letter; validate a backup archive; and set up a schedule for carrying out regular backup procedures.
    This seems to indicate that in Version 10 the word clone is used.
    Misty
    Affinity Photo 1.8 (marvellous)
    Lightroom 6
    Nik Collection
    Sumatra for PDF
    Speccy
    AZZ Cardfile

  7. #7

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition

    I use drive image xml. You can image (clone) 1 or more partitions at a time easily, and restore or copy to another partition just as easily.

    Using the Bart PE boot cd, you can also restore the operating system partition.

  8. #8
    mean eating machine ronyville's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Retardville
    Posts
    1,491

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition

    Hi guys, i just wanted to know what option to choose (clone or backup) if i wanted to save my C: drive and all the windows settings and applications settings so that i can restore my pc to its current state if it crashes or something else happens.

    cheers
    ron
    Life is a struggle
    It's a fight till the end
    So keep your head up
    And fight like a man

    "If you can believe than you can achieve" - Tupac Shakur

  9. #9
    VoidMaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,001

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition


  10. #10
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: Cloning only 1 Partition

    Quote Originally Posted by ronyville View Post
    Hi guys, i just wanted to know what option to choose (clone or backup) if i wanted to save my C: drive and all the windows settings and applications settings so that i can restore my pc to its current state if it crashes or something else happens.

    cheers
    ron
    A clone or image is different to backup or copy.
    I use two 200 Gig Seagate SATA II hard drives.
    I use Ghost to image, clone one identical drive to the other drive. It matters not how many partititions you have on the drive you boot from. The second drive is an image as opposed to copy or backup.

    So one physical drive is redundant except if I need to get running assuming the first boot drive dies for some reason. I store the second drive elsewhere.

    You can use NTBACKUP or Nero or other software to copy files and/or folders to CDs, DVDs or other hard drives.

    I think the main difference is that you will need to install at least an operating system, drivers plus your application for backup before you can get back your favourites, documents, music, cookies, emails and etc. Then you may need to take ownership as well.

    With an image I can remove dead hard drive and replace with other hard drive.

    Copies to CD or DVD of your important files will help too.

Similar Threads

  1. HDD Cloning
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-05-2008, 04:35 PM
  2. Help with error after cloning.
    By Mantis in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 08:14 PM
  3. Ghosting or Cloning
    By blackhat in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 10:30 AM
  4. HDD cloning
    By GrahamBar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 06:23 AM
  5. HDD: cloning; partitioning
    By agent in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-06-2003, 03:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •