Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Default Question about cable modems?

    Hi all,

    I just have a question regarding the cable modems. Are cable modems susceptible to overvoltages when subscribed through cable company? As i know that the ADSL routers are susceptible to overvoltages through the telephone line and so they do need protection in the router. Does anybody know if the cable modems are similar situation?

    I have googled it but didnt have much luck. If possible can anyone also provide a link with that information.


    Thanks heaps,
    Groovvy

  2. #2
    --:-- Murray P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Welly
    Posts
    2,961

    Default Re: Question about cable modems?

    I would imagine the are Groovy, however I don't have any solid evidence.

    I have mine plugged in to a UPS, though the the UPS doesn't have a coaxial cable connection (just network & RJ11/phone), so I'm probably wasting my time.

    Where are you and what sort/brand of modem is it?

  3. #3

    Default Re: Question about cable modems?

    I do not have a cable modem, but i was just trying to find out thats all. I have read through some cable modem websites but no luck with them. Thanks though.

  4. #4
    Senior Member godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Central New Munster
    Posts
    3,053

    Default Re: Question about cable modems?

    Any device that has a connection to two discrete networks has a higher susceptibility to "overvoltage" (Actually transient "spikes" of high voltage that might only be a few nanoseconds or milliseconds in length)

    This includes PC dial-up modems, ADSL modems, Cable modems, Cordless phone base units etc.

    With power line disturbances or nearby electrical storms, a significant potential difference can exist momentarily between the two networks. Even a UPS can fail to protect this as it still comes in the "other" network.

    There comes a point where a high level of protection is more expensive the equipment replacement or that very close protection on the incoming signal could affect the speed.

  5. #5
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,850

    Default Re: Question about cable modems?

    yes. you can get spike suppressors for coaxial cables. not sure if any of the cheap tv ones would work tho.
    Tweak it till it breaks

Similar Threads

  1. PC cable question
    By Rod J in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22-07-2008, 01:01 AM
  2. S-Vid cable question
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14-12-2005, 11:39 AM
  3. cable modems in welligton
    By mode73 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 11:27 PM
  4. Wanted: Recommendations of Cable Modems
    By Hatchi in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-03-2004, 08:41 PM
  5. Multiple cable modems on network
    By airdale in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18-09-2003, 11:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •