Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8

    Question Newbie-trying to set up a Home network.

    I wish to create a home network of two computors six feet apart. I know
    I know that I can link A&B computors to one monitor and a single keyboard
    via a KVM switch. Computor A is connected to Broadband via D- Link and
    Intergrated 10/100 Card, and to my Brother Printer (USB).
    Now to the Nitty stuff--how do I connect Computor B so that both A & B
    are able to use the Broadband and Printerhttp://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/images/smilies/confused.gif
    I have only one telephone outlet.
    I will be very greatful for any assistance.

  2. #2
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Newbie-trying to set up a Home network.

    Hi, get a cheap router/switch, run 1 cable from the d-link to the switch and another 2 from switch to pc's
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  3. #3
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Newbie-trying to set up a Home network.

    Well first of all, what D-Link are you refering to? if it is the DSL302G then SolMiester's way is best unless you buy a whole new modem/router.

    If it is the newer DSL504G then you are able to connect another ethernet cable to that and the other PC

    Tell us the model of the D-Link modem, we can't give the best advice without it
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Waiheke
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: Newbie-trying to set up a Home network.

    If it IS a 302G, then you can set up the other PC using the USB connection. The 302 allows both USB and ETH at the same time.

  5. #5
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Newbie-trying to set up a Home network.

    Quote Originally Posted by trig42 View Post
    If it IS a 302G, then you can set up the other PC using the USB connection. The 302 allows both USB and ETH at the same time.
    No, they are very touchy and unstable with that and often doesn't work. and plus USB is slow, you will (unless you have absolute crap BB) always be limited by the speed of the USB port and the DSL302G is USB 1.1 IIRC
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Newbie-trying to set up a Home network.

    Thank all of you for your assistance, my D-Link is the older 302G version,
    I will try SolMiester 's option! Once again thank you all for your help!!

  7. #7
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Newbie-trying to set up a Home network.

    OK, his way is best unless you have any problems with the modem and want to replace it?
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-07-2005, 11:15 AM
  2. XP Home to XP Home Network Problem
    By Lee76 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2004, 03:55 PM
  3. Network Newbie question
    By sandy beach in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-08-2003, 03:53 PM
  4. network newbie
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-06-2002, 08:51 PM
  5. home network
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-12-1999, 10:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •