Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    758

    Default Telephone Sidetone and ADSL

    Wo-hoo, signed up with Xnet for a broadband connection yesterday, so the fun should start sometime next week.

    Something I've noticed already though, after installing an ADSL filter on the main household desk phone, is that the sidetone on the phone is very noticeably louder, and is toppy and harsh. Not nice, and my wife has commented on it too. Looking around on the internet, I see that this sidetone alteration is not too unusual after fitting a filter, in that the telephone doesn't like the change in impedance that it sees.

    Anyone have any comments on this please? I gather some telephones are more affected than others in this situation. My phone is a Statesman? made by Plessey, and it has sounded fine up until fitting this filter.

  2. #2
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,171

    Default Re: Telephone Sidetone and ADSL

    I didn't have a sidetone problem, but I definitely noticed an increase in line noise once the DSL connection was made.
    I solved the lot by buying a splitter and installing where the phone line came into the house.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    758

    Default Re: Telephone Sidetone and ADSL

    Quote Originally Posted by decibel View Post
    I didn't have a sidetone problem, but I definitely noticed an increase in line noise once the DSL connection was made.
    I solved the lot by buying a splitter and installing where the phone line came into the house.
    I might have to try that. What is the model of splitter that you bought?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Telephone Sidetone and ADSL

    You may find there is some difference between filters. When I installed a dlink filter, caller id on my phone became intermittent. I replaced the filter with a dynalink one and alls good.

    A lot of splitters are internally the same as a plug in filter; they simply have wire ends to make connecting them into fixed wiring easier. Having said that, fitting a splitter 'early' in the wiring where it enters the house and providing a separate adsl feed is preferable.
    Nothing happens until something happens

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    758

    Default Re: Telephone Sidetone and ADSL

    Quote Originally Posted by wuppo View Post
    You may find there is some difference between filters.
    When the working week resumes, I'll talk to some people who sell these filters, and see if they have had any feedback about this sidetone problem. It can't be anything major though, or there would be discussion about it on the forums. Maybe my phone is too old, and newer ones cope better with line impedance peculiarities.

  6. #6
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,171

    Default Re: Telephone Sidetone and ADSL

    Quote Originally Posted by rumpty View Post
    I might have to try that. What is the model of splitter that you bought?
    I knew that was going to be your next question - unfortunately, I got mine from REXEL [they only had one model], but I don't think they sell them now.

    Try ringing some electrical wholesalers and if you do get one to put in, be careful - there is a "Line" side and a "phone" side.

  7. #7
    Textbook Pro.
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Telephone Sidetone and ADSL

    You could ask Telecom to filter it at the line? - That seemed to do it for a friend who had the same problem.

  8. #8
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,171

    Default Re: Telephone Sidetone and ADSL

    Quote Originally Posted by wellyg33k View Post
    You could ask Telecom to filter it at the line? - That seemed to do it for a friend who had the same problem.
    Yes, but then you have to PAY extra.

Similar Threads

  1. A Telephone Query
    By Poppa John in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 08:35 AM
  2. What is a telephone exchange?
    By Ninjabear in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 25-10-2007, 06:28 PM
  3. A bit of telephone history
    By Graham L in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-07-2007, 04:31 PM
  4. Telephone recording with XP
    By Slim in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 05:15 PM
  5. Telephone
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-12-2000, 03:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •