Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: 478 socket

  1. #1
    Supreme Commander
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    88

    Default 478 socket

    hey
    is there a difference with a mpga 478b and a 478 socket? would a 478 cpu still fit in either?
    Sapphire 4870*2 1GB
    XFX 680i LT SLI
    4GB G-Skill 4-4-4-12
    Core2Duo E8400 @ 3.6Ghz
    Corsair TX750W
    Soprano Case
    870GB Space
    DVD Burner
    19" Dell LCD
    Audigy 2 ZS

  2. #2
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: 478 socket

    Hi, I believe the 478b is the 133 bus chip, 478a 100 bus Northwood. Not sure if the faster bus chip will work on the slower bus socket though, or if it does, may not run at correct speed.
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

Similar Threads

  1. Socket 939 or socket AM2?
    By Alexhughes79 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 25-03-2008, 10:19 AM
  2. Need 3 pin Din Socket.
    By B.M. in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 22-03-2008, 10:33 AM
  3. Socket 462
    By TonyF in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-04-2005, 09:55 PM
  4. How do I know what CPU socket I have?
    By smashedlittlebugger in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-09-2003, 03:54 PM
  5. Socket 462 and Socket A?
    By ConCon in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-12-2002, 11:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •