Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default intel core 2 duo question

    hey, i'm a bit of a newby in the world of computers. I got this new comp just recently with intel core 2 duo E6400, which meant 2 hv a FSB of 1066Mhz rite? but on my 'core center' it says my FSB is at 237Mhz. so..... am i doing sumfing very stupidly wrng or is it wat suppose 2 b?

  2. #2
    Car and Computer Geek JUST INSANE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    Quote Originally Posted by petechewy View Post
    hey, i'm a bit of a newby in the world of computers. I got this new comp just recently with intel core 2 duo E6400, which meant 2 hv a FSB of 1066Mhz rite? but on my 'core center' it says my FSB is at 237Mhz. so..... am i doing sumfing very stupidly wrng or is it wat suppose 2 b?
    237Mhz is actual speed and 1066Mhz is relative bandwith
    but E6400 is quite good if you overclock it to 3 ghz

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    all rite go cha now thanx. so how do i ovaclock it to 3ghz?

  4. #4
    Car and Computer Geek JUST INSANE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    you need to raise the voltage by a bit otherwise you cannot get stable speeds
    . But increasing voltage increases the heat generated by the cpu so pay attention of the temperture.

    To overclock you need to go to the bios. Normaly push DEL before booting the system.
    I'll leave the rest to you to figure it out

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    cheers man. ill give it a go. the cpu is setting at bot 36C at the mo with room temp at 25ish. so its not too bad i guess?

  6. #6
    Car and Computer Geek JUST INSANE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    yeah but i heard you can get good results up to 3.1 ghz with the stock cooler
    check out tomshardware.com for more information. Core 2 E6400 is a great overclocking cpu and the benchmark results are closer to E6700

    My computer is a Amd 3500+ 939 Cpu Overclocked, Enermax Liberty 620 Watt PSU, Nvidia Geforce 7900 GT Overclocked, 1 gig of kingston, DFI Infinity Nforce 4 Ultra

  7. #7
    Car and Computer Geek JUST INSANE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    Becarefull of raising the voltage as it damages your cpu if you raise it too much.
    Overclocked cpu can give you 3 years of service and it voids your warranty.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    cheers thanks for the warning and help.

  9. #9
    Car and Computer Geek JUST INSANE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    no problem im a gamer and a little boost to pc performance makes a person feel happy. Thats the reason to live.

  10. #10
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: intel core 2 duo question

    Got to the anandtech.com forums for help, if you wish to overclock, they are very informative
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

Similar Threads

  1. intel core 2 processors
    By calebcc in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-08-2008, 09:13 AM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22-01-2007, 04:27 PM
  3. Replies: 39
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 11:46 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-10-2006, 07:15 PM
  5. Best CPU's for gaming, AMD/Intel dual core.
    By Battleneter in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-11-2005, 06:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •